8 Reviews

All I can say is "WOW". Threw this together yesterday evening as I was making supper. I will have to say this is the BEST cobbler recipe like this that I have tried. Not too sweet, the dough is the right consistency when baked and the flavor is outstanding. I used 3 cups of peaches and 1 cup of blueberries for my fruit. I ate a bowl right after it came out of the oven and was still warm. Mark took the rest to work with him this morning and within an hour of him getting to work, he called NEEDING the recipe. There were already 10 requests for it (from a bunch of guys, no less). I highly recommend this as an easy, crowd pleasing dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrybeth April 26, 2007

Margarine? Why???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ELBSeattle August 15, 2015

This turned out amazing! I decreased the butter (next time I will decrease it even more as it still seemed excessive) and I substituted agave for the sugar. I doubled the recipe as I had two full bags of fresh picked blueberries and it made a large 9 x 13 cobbler. Turned out beautifully caramelized, the berries were fantastic and had released their juices. This is probably the most beautiful cobbler I have ever made and was fast and easy to put together. Next time I will probably try switching from white flour just to see if I can make this in a healthier way. This definitely gets added to my staple recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aimselle August 29, 2011

I am pregnant and have been craving buttermilk-y things but I have been really watching my sugar intake. I made this with 2c blueberries we picked ourselves and froze and 2 cans of sliced pears with splenda instead of syrup (I got them almost free on sale and I had no clue what to do with them). I subbed whole wheat flour for the AP white and did not add any white sugar, instead I added a combination of natural sugar substitutes- erythritol (about 1/2 cup), stevia (about 1 Tablespoon of the Trader Joe's brand), and about 3 T of agave nectar (which is a "real" sugar that has less impact on blood sugar). I also added a splash of juice from the pears. We topped with a bit of vanilla fro-yo.
This is DIVINE!! We both (my husband and myself) would give it 10 stars if we could. I bake as a hobby very frequently but this is one of my favorite things I have made. I will make again and again as we have many more bags of frozen "pick your own" fruit to work through over the fall and winter. Best cobbler I have ever eaten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CowgurWife September 07, 2010

I'm not sure what went wrong with this. I made it exactly by the recipe. When I took it out of the oven, it was completely burnt around the edges and was flat, which really puzzled me since one of the previous reviewers said "it tends to bubble up really high." I had to literally scrape it out of the dish. Thought maybe my baking powder was old, but my DH reminded me it was a fairly new can (looked at the expiration to make sure and it was 2009). If anyone has any suggestions for why this turned out not so good for me, I would love to hear them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mailbelle September 20, 2007

This was a huge hit with my family. I felt fortunate that any was left for me to try after the vultures descended ;). I used fresh nectarines and frozen blue berries. We topped it with whipped topping while stil a bit warm. My DIL had never had cobbler before and she had two bowls! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom July 01, 2007

I made this as a second "Dad's Day" treat for tomorrow. I put 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup sour cream. I had to use it up. I used a can of cherry pie filling for the top. Looks GREAT, tastes GREAT too, I took a little piece to eat to write the review. tHANKS FOR POSTING.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song June 16, 2007

I used rhubarb in this which was a very nice change. Be careful to use the correct pan size as this tends to bubble up really high and can make a huge mess in your oven. Thanks for a great dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bippie April 30, 2007
Buttermilk Cobbler