56 Reviews

Excellent! I made quite a few modifications to suit my own tastes. Firstly, I substituted half the butter with unsweetened applesauce. Secondly, I added 1 tsp. peppermint extract. Finally, I turned the batter into muffins (per another rater's suggestion). Regular size (12 cup tin) muffins were perfectly done in 15 minutes (12 for mini muffins). Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet tooth 23 November 08, 2008

very good, I would have liked it to rise just a little more than it did however we still thoroughly enjoyed it, I used mini chocolate chips in place of the nuts and butter in place of the margarine, thanks for sharing Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz October 31, 2008

Light chocolate flavor and not overly sweet. I used pistachios in this and will serve with gelato tonight. I am wondering if a muffin tin might work better. I checked at 30 minutes and it was still very gooey, then at 45 minutes it was completely done- a bit too dry actually. Next time I might add chocolate chips as others have done as well. Reviewed for ZWT4 bread challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Cee Jay June 17, 2008

Very good and easy quick bread to make. The amount of chocolate flavor is perfect and maybe enhanced just a tad from the 1/3 cup of chocolate chips I added instead of the nuts. Perfect breakfast for me to eat while driving to work, lol. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 16, 2008

Excellent Bread!. I used almonds in mine and it was very nice. Definitely a new hit in my household. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim June 16, 2008

This is very good. I did overcook just a bit so it was dryer than it should be but still very tasty. Due to nut allergies I subbed with chocolate chips which were good. I will certainly make this again. This was made for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing your recipe. **Update: I do have to share with you that today I used this wonderful bread to make Strawberry Shortcake. The chocolate bread replaced the shortcake. Covered with fresh whipped cream and strawberries it was scrumptious. Thanks again for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV June 16, 2008

This simple and delicious. I found the chocolate to be fairly light but nice. I used butter and added 1 tsp vanilla and a smidge of almond extract. I used 3/4 cup sugar which made for a slighly sweet bread. Next time I will use more pecans and add mini choc chips. Thanks Sharon for a great recipe. Reviewed by a Chic Chef for ZWT 4 E. Europe Bread challenge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 14, 2008

I used 3/4 cup sugar and it was perfect. Not too sweet. I would consider using only 1/2 cup another time. I'm sure it would be nice. I didn't add nuts. The bread is moist and with a nice taste of chocolate. Love it. Thanks Sharon. Made for ZWT4

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 12, 2008

Very nice. I really liked the quickness of this. Softened the butter in the microwave and used a mixture of greek yoghurt/milk in place of the buttermilk. Very nice texture, not too sweet. (Left out the nuts) I know the family will enjoy this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 10, 2008

This is a great recipe and can be either a bread or you could ice it and make a cake. i used chopped almonds and everyone really enjoyed it . made for ZWT 4

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 07, 2008
Buttermilk Chocolate Bread