Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Chocolate Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Chocolate Bread

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-54 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2007

      Lovely! I tested it after 50 minutes and it was done. Perfectly moist and not too sweet. For non-Fahrenheit cooks, I baked it at 160ºC in a fan oven but a conventional oven would need to be heated to 180ºC. Thanks Sharon123! My kids have a real treat waiting for them when they get home :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2014

      Made this using Raichka's (June 26 2010) recommendation and halved the butter, used one egg and added 1/2 cup cinnamon apple sauce. I also added 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon. Yummy! Recently made it and I used the new "Nestle Delightfulls" Dark Chocolate Morsels with Cherry Flavored Filling. It was amazing!! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      I was looking for a recipe to use some extra buttermilk up. I was just going to leave the nuts out, but then I remembered that I had some leftover skor bits in a bag in the pantry. I used them in place of the nuts. DH eats his bread with butter. While DD likes to put whipped cream on her slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      Very good, try not to overcook it if you use chocolate chips instead of nuts. I think this will make great muffins. Please note that this bread is not sweet like a dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      The bread was moist and rich in chocolatety taste. The best part was that it wasn't extremely sweet. Just right for me. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      i've made this twice. very easy to make and very tasty too, this is a keeper updating 1/07- i make this recipe often, especially when i have leftover buttermilk to use up. this recipe always works for me and is so quick and easy, my family thanks you too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      What a great recipe! So nice and lightly flavored chocolate, moist and delicious! This would be a great breakfast bread served with cream cheese or served with a chocolate syrup and vanilla ice cream as a dessert. I may add a little flaked coconut to my next batch to add just a hint of sweetness! Thanks again, Sharon, for sharing so many of your wonderful recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      This was good. I found it to be a little dry, but maybe because I should have cut back on the cooking time a bit. The kids really liked it -- although they were wishing for something a bit more sweet. Next time, I think I will add another tsp. of vanilla extract and perhaps a little bit more buttermilk. Quite tasty, though, and directions that were VERY easy to follow. I'll be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      This was pretty good, Mine only cooked for about 45 mins and was perfect in texture. Not too sweet but good. Next time I may add some semi-sweet chips for additional chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      Chocolate cake in a loaf-- very tasty and moist. Not so sweet that you can't eat it for breakfast, yet sweet enough to eat for a light dessert. I baked in an 8x4 in loaf pan, and it took about 75 minutes (but that could definitely be my oven). Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Yum! Next time I will try Capncrunch's suggestion and make some chocolate honey butter to go along with the bread. Still good with regular butter though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      Very good! Not really chocolatey-like a tame brownie. Really great warm with butter. I used walnuts. Thanks for a great receipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      Sharon...This was really good, I used walnuts and powdered buttermilk instead. It was fabulous, will have to make it again....for sure!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      I made this twice within a day coz my guests finish the first loaf and I want my honey to try it when he gets home, so i baked a second one, but omitted the nuts, add in 1 banana (chopped), it turn out just as great. Fantastic Recipe! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Chocolate Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.6
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    30%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 268.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes