Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Chocolate Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Chocolate Bread

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2008

      Excellent! I made quite a few modifications to suit my own tastes. Firstly, I substituted half the butter with unsweetened applesauce. Secondly, I added 1 tsp. peppermint extract. Finally, I turned the batter into muffins (per another rater's suggestion). Regular size (12 cup tin) muffins were perfectly done in 15 minutes (12 for mini muffins). Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      very good, I would have liked it to rise just a little more than it did however we still thoroughly enjoyed it, I used mini chocolate chips in place of the nuts and butter in place of the margarine, thanks for sharing Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Light chocolate flavor and not overly sweet. I used pistachios in this and will serve with gelato tonight. I am wondering if a muffin tin might work better. I checked at 30 minutes and it was still very gooey, then at 45 minutes it was completely done- a bit too dry actually. Next time I might add chocolate chips as others have done as well. Reviewed for ZWT4 bread challenge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Very good and easy quick bread to make. The amount of chocolate flavor is perfect and maybe enhanced just a tad from the 1/3 cup of chocolate chips I added instead of the nuts. Perfect breakfast for me to eat while driving to work, lol. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Excellent Bread!. I used almonds in mine and it was very nice. Definitely a new hit in my household. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This is very good. I did overcook just a bit so it was dryer than it should be but still very tasty. Due to nut allergies I subbed with chocolate chips which were good. I will certainly make this again. This was made for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing your recipe. **Update: I do have to share with you that today I used this wonderful bread to make Strawberry Shortcake. The chocolate bread replaced the shortcake. Covered with fresh whipped cream and strawberries it was scrumptious. Thanks again for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      This simple and delicious. I found the chocolate to be fairly light but nice. I used butter and added 1 tsp vanilla and a smidge of almond extract. I used 3/4 cup sugar which made for a slighly sweet bread. Next time I will use more pecans and add mini choc chips. Thanks Sharon for a great recipe. Reviewed by a Chic Chef for ZWT 4 E. Europe Bread challenge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I used 3/4 cup sugar and it was perfect. Not too sweet. I would consider using only 1/2 cup another time. I'm sure it would be nice. I didn't add nuts. The bread is moist and with a nice taste of chocolate. Love it. Thanks Sharon. Made for ZWT4

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Very nice. I really liked the quickness of this. Softened the butter in the microwave and used a mixture of greek yoghurt/milk in place of the buttermilk. Very nice texture, not too sweet. (Left out the nuts) I know the family will enjoy this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This is a great recipe and can be either a bread or you could ice it and make a cake. i used chopped almonds and everyone really enjoyed it . made for ZWT 4

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      So, very very tasty. I made this for a party where somebody attending had a nut allergy. So I left out the nuts but it was still wonderful. Going on the suggestion of the previous reviewer, I served slices with a bowl of fresh strawberries and marscapone cheese on the side and the combo was flat out delicious. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      GREAT! I made this with chocolate chips and chopped fresh strawberries and omitted the nuts. It was soooooooo good. It had a nice smooth soft texture and was very chocolaty with the chocolate chips. I LOVED it plain and warm with whipped cream and strawberries and with strawberry butter. Made for the Holiday tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Loved it! I used my mini loaf pan. Everyone enjoyed it very much. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This was perfect. I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it in a loaf pan. The second time, I added chocolate chips and put them in muffin tins, baked for about 20-25 minutes. They were perfect, easy to freeze and have as a quick breakfast! Thanks for such a great recipe. Stacy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This was great bread, although it could have been a bit sweeter... but that is just my taste. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I did everything as instructed but replaced the nuts with semisweet chocolate chips and I got a nice tender cake with a fine crumb. Definitely one to make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      FANTASTIC RECIPE!! After mixing the sugar, butter and eggs together I thought I had done something wrong with the mixing, but then I realised that the problem was that the butter I used was too cold making it curdle a little. But other than that it was fantastic. I followed the recipe to a tee except I added a little more nuts(I used walnuts) and I also added some choc chips. Thankyou for posting this recipe Sharon123!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      The recipe worked out fine. I think if I made this again I would add chips to make it richer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      We loved this! We made it at night and it was gone before lunch the next day. It reminded of those chocolate muffins, which I think it would be easy to take this recipe and make it into muffins! Will definitely make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      I love anything chocolate. This bread was yummy. Quick and easy, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Chocolate Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.6
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    30%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 268.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites