54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this bread today. It is fantastic, Sharon123! It rose up so nicely and came out of the loaf pan perfectly. My husband loved it, too. I'll definitely make this recipe again. It goes perfectly with a cup of hot coffee. I never would have thought of chocolate bread--thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Educator1953 June 08, 2010

It has a wondeful taste and texture. But, when I removed it from the pan after the 10 minutes my bottom didn't want to come. It may have been my fault. But, either way, I'll make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY May 11, 2010

I wanted to make this to try out my homemade Buttermilk. I added some cranberries and baked it like squares. It is still in the oven but I know it's going to be great. You can tell by how nice and creamy the batter turned out. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doughy April 17, 2010

Excellent recipe! I made some modifications to lighten the loaf a little. I used strained prunes (baby food) in place of the butter and used 1/2 sugar, 1/2 splenda (and then added about 3 tbsp or mini chocolate chips!). I think I baked it a little too long because the bottom was a little tough, but the flavour is amazing! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_princess_suzy April 13, 2010

Here is my story & I am sticking to it cuz it is true. Haste was a factor when I made this bread. It was made on impulse when I wanted something choc & sweet, but not overly so. I glanced at the recipe, saw I was missing the nuts & decided to make it w/o them. I prepared the wet + dry ingredients & then chastised myself for having forgotten the banana. Why? you might ask & the honest answer is I thot I was making choc banana bread! Since all else was ready to go, I added my 3 bananas & made 3 mini loaves of some damn fine choc banana bread. Thx for sharing your recipe w/us. This success story never would have happened w/o it & next time I'll be sure to have the nuts on hand .. along w/the bananas. Yum! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 29, 2010

Very good recipe, was quite tastey. Came out a little dry for me but was still good enough for us to eat it all down :) I used chocolate chips instead of nuts (no one in the house is a fan of nuts) and it really gave it an extra chocolate kick! Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaeleigh December 29, 2009

Beautiful, chocolatey, and moist. used butter flavored crisco, not as much fat. It rose to a beautiful loaf. I used slivered almonds, chopped almost to a mince. Vinegar in 2% milk is my staple buttermilk. I did add a little more baking powder, I wanted it to rise a little more and we are high altitude. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song July 17, 2009

I am 42 & have been cooking since I was 5 & could stand in a chair to cook, but boy I made a monkey-mess outta this!! The only thng I didn't do was set the kitchen on fire. I didn't have buttermilk so I used powdered milk from the fridge & vinegar & followed the rest of the recipe as written & added 1 tsp vanilla. I used my reg sized loaf pan, but it started over-flowing so I put a tray under to catch the spill. It was a litte dry, but the taste was fine, although I will add choc chips next time for a stronger chocolate flavor. It has more of a cake texture, but mine falls into fine crumbs. One good thing came from it spilling, the batter cooked to a crunchier texture than the loaf & I really liked it better than the bread. I will use the batter to make drop cookies next time. Very versatile, thanks for posting. I also wanted to say that I really appreciate the time everyone takes to review the recipes & how you altered the recipe & how it turned out. I've gotten many great ideas from everyone's input.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheba92766 July 16, 2009

This is good! Not too sweet but a tad dry as others have mentioned. I will play around with the cooking time. I did not add nuts but wish I had added chips and an extract of some sort. I was thinking almond when I made this batch but decided against it. Vanilla would add depth as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus April 13, 2009

This is so delicious! Like a "brownie muffin bread". I borrowed from other reviewers, subbing half the butter with applesauce, adding 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract, using pistachios, plus adding some chocolate chips. We don't like things too sweet, so this was perfect for us. If you like things sweeter, you might want to increase the sugar by 1/4 cup. This definitely is not dry, and does not need any butter spread on it! This makes a large loaf, and did need about an hour for the baking time in (our newish) oven. This hit the spot perfectly!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 22, 2009
Buttermilk Chocolate Bread