Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Chocolate Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Chocolate Bread

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2002

      Sharon, this bread is wonderful, tasty and moist. I used pecans in this bread. I really liked the buttermilk, which did make the bread moist. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. I will definately use this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      Serve with chocolate honey butter: 1/2 cup butter, only 2 tbsp. honey 2 tbsp. chocolate syrup Mix together well. Serve with bread. Recipe can be halved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Very nice. Has a great consistnacy, and not too sweet. I enjoyed th 'bread' feel, instead of a cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I halved the butter, used one egg, and added a half cup of apple sauce. It rose beautifully and came out very moist. This chocolate bread has just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Good, basic chocolate bread. I added ground hazelnuts and a big dollop of Nutella to the batter. Versatile, you could use a lot of add ins or keep it plain.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Very nice loaf of chocolate bread, though definitely not overly sweet. It took 65 minutes to bake for me, but was still nice and moist. Thanks for a lovely recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Made this today for a little something special. It is such a wonderful quick bread. It forms a delightful crisp crust and it is light and moist inside. Best of all it is not overly sweet. I used Dutch cocoa powder, and toasted slivered almonds. I will try toasted pecans next time I make this. Thanks for sharing this recipe Sharon. It was definitely enjoyed by all. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Delicious recipe. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips to the recipe and it smelled so delicious, we could barely wait for it to cool before eating it. I made it a second time in a bundt pan by doubling the batch and now they're asking for the recipe. Mahalo for sharing Sharon123!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Amazing!!! I followed Raichka's (June 26 2010) recommendation and halved the butter, used one egg and added 1/2 cup apple sauce. I also omitted the nuts - family preference. These changes reduced the calories to 185 cal per serving. The flavour and texture was just fantastic and I am sure this loaf won't survive long. I will be making this lots! Made for your Cook A Thon (PS - the kids friends just came asking for seconds.....)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Simple and oh, so delicious, if not that healthy for you. I needed to use up some buttermilk, and this was a quick and delicious recipe. I didn't use nuts in the recipe, and when I made a second loaf, I sifted the dry ingredients before adding them to the wet because the cocoa especially liked to clump. The bread is moderately dense, enough to stay in slices, but tender enough to nibble daintily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      I made this bread today. It is fantastic, Sharon123! It rose up so nicely and came out of the loaf pan perfectly. My husband loved it, too. I'll definitely make this recipe again. It goes perfectly with a cup of hot coffee. I never would have thought of chocolate bread--thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      It has a wondeful taste and texture. But, when I removed it from the pan after the 10 minutes my bottom didn't want to come. It may have been my fault. But, either way, I'll make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I wanted to make this to try out my homemade Buttermilk. I added some cranberries and baked it like squares. It is still in the oven but I know it's going to be great. You can tell by how nice and creamy the batter turned out. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I made some modifications to lighten the loaf a little. I used strained prunes (baby food) in place of the butter and used 1/2 sugar, 1/2 splenda (and then added about 3 tbsp or mini chocolate chips!). I think I baked it a little too long because the bottom was a little tough, but the flavour is amazing! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Here is my story & I am sticking to it cuz it is true. Haste was a factor when I made this bread. It was made on impulse when I wanted something choc & sweet, but not overly so. I glanced at the recipe, saw I was missing the nuts & decided to make it w/o them. I prepared the wet + dry ingredients & then chastised myself for having forgotten the banana. Why? you might ask & the honest answer is I thot I was making choc banana bread! Since all else was ready to go, I added my 3 bananas & made 3 mini loaves of some damn fine choc banana bread. Thx for sharing your recipe w/us. This success story never would have happened w/o it & next time I'll be sure to have the nuts on hand .. along w/the bananas. Yum! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Very good recipe, was quite tastey. Came out a little dry for me but was still good enough for us to eat it all down :) I used chocolate chips instead of nuts (no one in the house is a fan of nuts) and it really gave it an extra chocolate kick! Thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Beautiful, chocolatey, and moist. used butter flavored crisco, not as much fat. It rose to a beautiful loaf. I used slivered almonds, chopped almost to a mince. Vinegar in 2% milk is my staple buttermilk. I did add a little more baking powder, I wanted it to rise a little more and we are high altitude. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I am 42 & have been cooking since I was 5 & could stand in a chair to cook, but boy I made a monkey-mess outta this!! The only thng I didn't do was set the kitchen on fire. I didn't have buttermilk so I used powdered milk from the fridge & vinegar & followed the rest of the recipe as written & added 1 tsp vanilla. I used my reg sized loaf pan, but it started over-flowing so I put a tray under to catch the spill. It was a litte dry, but the taste was fine, although I will add choc chips next time for a stronger chocolate flavor. It has more of a cake texture, but mine falls into fine crumbs. One good thing came from it spilling, the batter cooked to a crunchier texture than the loaf & I really liked it better than the bread. I will use the batter to make drop cookies next time. Very versatile, thanks for posting. I also wanted to say that I really appreciate the time everyone takes to review the recipes & how you altered the recipe & how it turned out. I've gotten many great ideas from everyone's input.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This is good! Not too sweet but a tad dry as others have mentioned. I will play around with the cooking time. I did not add nuts but wish I had added chips and an extract of some sort. I was thinking almond when I made this batch but decided against it. Vanilla would add depth as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This is so delicious! Like a "brownie muffin bread". I borrowed from other reviewers, subbing half the butter with applesauce, adding 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract, using pistachios, plus adding some chocolate chips. We don't like things too sweet, so this was perfect for us. If you like things sweeter, you might want to increase the sugar by 1/4 cup. This definitely is not dry, and does not need any butter spread on it! This makes a large loaf, and did need about an hour for the baking time in (our newish) oven. This hit the spot perfectly!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Chocolate Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.6
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    30%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 268.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 17.9 g
    71%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes