54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sharon, this bread is wonderful, tasty and moist. I used pecans in this bread. I really liked the buttermilk, which did make the bread moist. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. I will definately use this one again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie December 23, 2002

Serve with chocolate honey butter: 1/2 cup butter, only 2 tbsp. honey 2 tbsp. chocolate syrup Mix together well. Serve with bread. Recipe can be halved.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cullinaryjudge April 02, 2003

Very nice. Has a great consistnacy, and not too sweet. I enjoyed th 'bread' feel, instead of a cake.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food_Lush March 13, 2003

I halved the butter, used one egg, and added a half cup of apple sauce. It rose beautifully and came out very moist. This chocolate bread has just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka June 26, 2010

Good, basic chocolate bread. I added ground hazelnuts and a big dollop of Nutella to the batter. Versatile, you could use a lot of add ins or keep it plain.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha September 19, 2011

Very nice loaf of chocolate bread, though definitely not overly sweet. It took 65 minutes to bake for me, but was still nice and moist. Thanks for a lovely recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs July 17, 2011

Made this today for a little something special. It is such a wonderful quick bread. It forms a delightful crisp crust and it is light and moist inside. Best of all it is not overly sweet. I used Dutch cocoa powder, and toasted slivered almonds. I will try toasted pecans next time I make this. Thanks for sharing this recipe Sharon. It was definitely enjoyed by all. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 11, 2011

Delicious recipe. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips to the recipe and it smelled so delicious, we could barely wait for it to cool before eating it. I made it a second time in a bundt pan by doubling the batch and now they're asking for the recipe. Mahalo for sharing Sharon123!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phwright8 January 26, 2011

Amazing!!! I followed Raichka's (June 26 2010) recommendation and halved the butter, used one egg and added 1/2 cup apple sauce. I also omitted the nuts - family preference. These changes reduced the calories to 185 cal per serving. The flavour and texture was just fantastic and I am sure this loaf won't survive long. I will be making this lots! Made for your Cook A Thon (PS - the kids friends just came asking for seconds.....)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini October 24, 2010

Simple and oh, so delicious, if not that healthy for you. I needed to use up some buttermilk, and this was a quick and delicious recipe. I didn't use nuts in the recipe, and when I made a second loaf, I sifted the dry ingredients before adding them to the wet because the cocoa especially liked to clump. The bread is moderately dense, enough to stay in slices, but tender enough to nibble daintily.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eris June 16, 2010
Buttermilk Chocolate Bread