Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Chicken

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2003

      Vicki, I dont know where you originally found this recipe, but it is absolutely wonderful! I don't remember that last time that I tried a chicken recipe that was this easy and this flavorful, moist and delicious! As you said, the gravy truly does make this dish remarkable! I won't let this recipe get far away, trust me on that! I prepared as directed, reducing the temperature to 375 degrees after the first 15 minutes and continued cooking for the remaining 45 minutes at 375. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us, Vicki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      You weren't kidding--the gravy is delicious, the chicken was moist and flavorful--followed the directions as written, and what a great recipe-- it couldn't be easier or tastier !! Thanks for posting !! TERESA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      Simply delicious! I made this last night with 3 chicken breasts, half the butter and flour and the same amount of buttermilk and soup. I added seasoned salt to the flour mixture and a can of mushrooms to the sauce. I also turned it down to 375 after 15 min. and eventually to 350 since the butter was starting to burn. I served it with mashed potatoes. It tasted like it was much more work than it was. Very, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      We thoroughly enjoyed this simple to prepare, very tasty chicken dish. I used butter instead of margarine & I also added 1/2 teaspoon of smoked sweet paprika to give it a bit of a kick. Next time I make this, I will add some additional seasonings to the flour mixture & also some sliced mushrooms during the last 15 or so minutes of cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      We did not care for this recipe. Maybe it is just us but it was rather "milky". Thanks for a recipe to try anyway

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      This is a really good recipe, my husband loved it, my son loved it and it was so easy! I used legs because thats what I had and did everything else the same and it was really delicious, the gravy was served over wide egg noodles and we had sugar snap peas and yum! I will be making this alot, my kids will actually eat this so it is a good one for me! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2003

      I loved the gravy but my chicken was chewy, not so tender. Next time I will cook longer and slower as I think maybe I cooked too high too fast.....But I will make this again! TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      We tried it and it was very good. The only complaint I have is that the flavor was not very bold. It was very moist but the flavor was kind of bland. But I think we will make it again and try cream of chicken instead! Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Cooking a creamier-style chicken was a little scary for me, but boy am I glad I decided to do it! This chicken is DELICIOUS! The sauce was absorbed into the chicken breasts and made them super tender. I substituted the cream of mushroom soup for cream of chicken. Also, I found that 425 degrees was a bit too hot. I cooked the chicken for the first 30 minutes on 400 degrees, then 375 degrees for the remainder of the time. I served the chicken breast with yellow rice, but I think next time I'll serve it with mashed potatoes. Definitely a yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      I thought this was really good. I added some chopped onions and garlic with the butter under the chicken and several seasonings with the flour and the sauce. The buttermilk really gave it a nice flavor and it was very filling. Thanks for a good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      I wanted a quick dinner and this was really easy. I also sauteed 4 large onions and put those over chicken before the buttermilk. During the last 10 minutes, I sprinkled some romano cheese over it. This was so very good and simple. Definitely will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      Easy, tasty dish, and it makes lots of gravy. I served with mashed potatoes baby peas and carrots. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      This is WONDERFUL !! A very easy and delicious dish that we really enjoyed ! The gravy is sooo yummy ! Thank You for sharing this one !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2003

      Easy and delicious. Served this today with mashed potatoes and a salad. We really enjoyed it. I also reduced the temperature after 15 minutes. I used a thick, homemade, mushroom gravy rather than the canned soup. The recipe worked just fine. Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      Boy, this was tasty! I used boneless skinless breasts, and season salt instead of regular salt. I decided to add a generous dash of garlic powder and parsley to the flour mixture. I generously added pepper to the soup and buttermilk mixture as well. I followed the cooking instructions to the letter and was rewarded with tender moist chicken in a fantastic tasting gravy. The DH asked me to please make this again...that's worth a million stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      Really it has all been said by the previous reviewers! This was delicious, easy and will be made again! Vicky, thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      This was wonderfully delicious! I did as Bev suggested and reduced the temperature to 375 after the first 15 minutes. The chicken received raves from all the family and I know I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      This was good but it didn't win us over. It needed some "oomph," I guess. I followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't quite use the word 'bland' but just could use something. The chicken was certainly tender & moist though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I really liked this. Super easy and super tasty. I pounded my chicken and it was so tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Made this for my hubby and I tonight and it turned out great! Love the gravy and the chicken was very moist and tender. I used cream of chicken soup like the other review and I baked this at 400 for the first 15 minutes then at 375. I served this with mashed potatoes and a veggie. Thanks for the recipe Vickie and I will be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.4
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    43%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 96.4 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1077.5 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites