Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes (gluten Free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes (gluten Free)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2013

      My family loves this recipe, we make these at least once a week. We are gluten and dairy free, and substitute rice milk for the buttermilk. They can be a bit dry but are amazing and moist with a grated apple added!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2012

      Delicious, light and fluffy. We substituted date sugar for the brown sugar and 1 TBS vinegar and 1 Cup Hemp milk. I ate them without any toppings because they were so tasty. Would be great with fruit, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      used a similar recipe from Bob's Red Mill... used milk instead of buttermilk, so did not need baking soda... now I know buckwheat flour is best used in pancakes... easy, healthy and delicious with tahini carob molasses or nutella on top...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I do not eat gluten-free, but try to cut down on gluten when I can, and these were pretty good, without having a lot of things in them I don't usually have around, like xanthan gum and soy or rice flours. Made as written, but flavor was a bit lacking so would double spices next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      These were good, and the recipe is refreshingly simple. I have tried other gluten-free pancake recipes and this one is the best both for taste and number of ingredients. I served with warmed cinnamon spiced peaches on top, which was a nice complement to the spices in the pancakes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Very good. Excellent recipe and very forgiving when using substitutes. I omitted the sugar and added 2 extra eggs, used regular milk or yogurt instead of buttermilk, and used melted coconut oil instead of butter. Added shredded carrots, walnuts, vanilla, and coconuts for a yummy treat for me and my picky-eater preschooler! (Who loved them!) Have made them several times now, this recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Yesterday was my first gluten free day - so I obviously don't have much experience cooking gluten free, but I made these pancakes today and they were surprisingly tasty! I did double the spices because I like extra spice and added an extra tablespoon of brown sugar. Since we can't have dairy either, I had to use almond milk instead of buttermilk. Yummy with peaches and sliced almonds!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      These were very light and tasty. Due to budgetary constraints, I used half buckwheat flour and half rice flour. They still had a wonderful buckwheat flavor. We used strawberry preserves to top them. WHAT A TREAT!!! Thank you for sharing this recipe. It will be a staple in our house from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Tasted alright, but I might make changes if I made it again, the pancakes didn't really have much flavor. Maybe I'll try doubling the spices...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Love this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Wonderful, these have a pumpkin pie kinda flavor maybe that is because i used pumpkin pie spice in place of the spices. These have a mouth feel like real pancakes have to say this makes going gluten free easy peasy! Why i even sent it to my cousin who is also gluten sensitive and has not managed to cook herself edible pancakes. Thanks you may be a messy cook but your a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Great recipe. I used hemp milk and 1 tsp cider vinegar to replace buttermilk. It worked great. The teenagers ate them fine. One said they were great, one said they were ok, but buckwheat was something these boys have never eaten before. I personally love them. They make me think of my mom making buckwheat pancakes when we were kids.Thanks for a great recipe. It makes the transition to gluten free so much easier when there are great recipes like this .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I can't believe I still haven't reviewed this. I've been using it as my standard pancake recipe for months and I've never heard anything but praise for it. No one could believe me that this was actually wheat free either. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Fantastic! Delicious! Easy! A Keeper! I used half buckwheat flour and half whole wheat flour. Can't wait to have a brunch and wow everybody with this recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Being Gluten Free these are a real treat and my kids loved them. They were light and stayed fresh. However, as I made them as pikelets instead of pancakes, I doubled the sugar as I didn't find them quite sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      If I didn't know these were gluten-free, I never would have guessed. I've made quite a few buckwheat pancake recipes over the years and this is the first one I've made that uses only buckwheat flour, rather than a combination of buckwheat flour and wheat flour. I found that it gave the pancakes a lovely, strong buckwheat flavor, which as a buckwheat-lover I enjoyed. I didn't think it was overpowering at all, nicely balanced by the added spices. They were great with butter and some maple syrup. These were slightly fluffy, but very tender. Good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      I had some leftover buttermilk so I thought I'd give these a whirl. I left out the butter and threw in a tbsp of applesauce instead. The pancakes turned out great - came together well, with fluffy texture and good flavour. I got 6 bread-plate sized cakes out of this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Buckwheat Pancakes (gluten Free)

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.9
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    25%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 56.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 651.6 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites