Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Brownies

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      Oh my gosh!! These are so decadent! It's my first attempt at brownies from scratch, so I was a bit intimidated by all the steps - but it really was a snap, once I got all the ingredients lined up. The brownies are more cakey than fudgey, which I love, and the frosting is nice and fudgey - as it should be! :) Thanks, Cindy Lynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      OMG, Cindy Lynn, these brownies are magnificent!!!!! I thought your chocolate cake was TOP-DOG, but these run neck-in-neck with it! They are just soooooo good! Followed your directions, and BTW, used your buttermilk recipe, of course! They're real easy to mix up and bake, and the taste is just wunnerful, wunnerful, wunnerful!! Can't thank you enough for sharing such a great recipe. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      Whoops!!! Make sure that you don't mix the buttermilk mix with the dry ingredients too vigorously, because they really get gooey! (just as Cindy warned they would) Even with the buttermilk clumps, they still tasted verrry good :) Next time I'll be a bit more careful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      Superb and definitely a make-again brownie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      OMG were these sooooooo good. I think I ate 4 servings in one shot. These brownies came out more like a light fudgy cake. I made a chocolate frosting to go over it. It wasn't the frosting you have posted because I didn't have powdered sugar in the house. I actually made a pleasant mistake. I used orange extract instead of vanilla extract in the chocolate frosting. I went with it and poured it over the brownies. WOW! is all I can say. This recipe is a definite keeper. (And the frosting too.) My frosting was 2/3 cup brown sugar, 3 TBSP butter, 1/3 cup chocolate chips, 3 TBSP Milk, 1 tsp. vanilla or orange extract. Combine brown sugar , milk and butter in saucepan and boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and add vanilla (or orange extract) and chocolate chips. Beat until ready to spread or just let cool and pour over brownies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      These brownies taste great. We really enjoyed them. My problem is with the frosting. How do you get it to spread. I make them once, and couldn't get the icing to spread at all, but thought I must have done something wrong. I made them again tonight , and found that I had the same problem. The icing is almost like fudge, and I couldn't get it to spread without destroying the brownies. I'd give it a five for taste, but a three because I couldn't make it look right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      I got a free cup of coffee with my breakfast sandwich at the drive thru. The only thing is that no one in our house drinks coffee. I came across this recipe trying to find something to use up my buttermilk. Bonus, I got to use the buttermilk and the coffee. I am glad that I checked these before the timer went off. It still had five minutes on the timer and they were done. The brownies were more cake like than like brownies, but still very tasty. The icing was thick and not pourable. But again, still very tasty. We left off the nuts due to allergies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      I can't give this a rating because they did not turn out for me,, and I'm hoping for some feedback as to what I might have done wrong. I'm middle-aged,, I've cooked and baked plenty in my time, but I think they ended up being a disaster and I'm not happy about all those ingredients wasted. I'm not here to bash the recipe at all, but to try and figure out what on earth I did wrong.<br/><br/>For one thing, the batter was not thick as mentioned in the directions, but that's the least of my problems with the recipe. <br/><br/>After baking, most (but not all) of the brownie has a pebble like texture. Very weird, and I've never seen anything like it. I thought it was just a surface issue, and I could kinda scrap it off, but this very weird pebble consistency is not just on the surface, but goes deeper into the brownie. I tasted it,, and there's really no particular taste.<br/><br/>If you're wondering if I've eaten a piece of the brownie,, I haven't. I tasted the batter,, (which was not thick but did taste good),, and I tasted a bit of that pebble-like area I mentioned, and now I have a bizarre,, (and nasty) stomach ache. <br/><br/>Does anyone have any ideas??<br/><br/>The only thing I can think of is that the hot coco mixture that gets added to the flour/buttermilk/egg mixture curdled/cooked the eggs. <br/><br/>(The recipe does not state to completely cool the coco mixture or to tempura the egg mixture).<br/><br/>Any ideas?? (I'm not sure if I'm going to even let my family try the baked product. I think once they taste the bizarre pebbles, they're not going to like it anyway). <br/><br/>If I ever try this recipe again,, I will make the coco part well in advanced,, and make sure it's 100% cool before adding it to the rest of the ingredients.<br/><br/>Thank you!<br/><br/>I also ended up with a nasty st

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      AWESOME!!! Very rich!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      I've tried well over a dozen recipes for brownies from scratch. I can honestly say that I would only make two of those recipes again. This is one of those recipes! My go-to recipe has always been Ghirardelli Award Winning Double Chocolate Brownies but I was out of both chocolate chips and Ghirardelli sweet ground chocolate. I love that this recipe doesn't require any special ingredients and taste phenomenal! I'll definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Delicious and oh so chocolatey! This is a cake-like brownie, which was perfect for a birthday cake for my DH. Similar to another recipe that I've used in the past, but will use this one from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      These were tasty. It did turn out more like cake than brownies, but there weren't any complaints here. I baked it in a heart shaped silicone pan I'd been given (dd really wanted to make something in there) so it did take longer to cook. Also opted not to make the frosting, but only because I'd already done too many projects in the kitchen for one morning. ;) This one will go on a recipe card to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      YUMMY!!!!!!!!!! These were great and easy enough for my 12 yo ds to make. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      If you are expecting a brownie you might be disappointed but no one in this house is complaining over this recipe. This is very similar to my grandmother's chocolate sheet cake however it was nice to make it in a 9x13 instead of jelly roll pan. I used coffee in place of the water and pecans in the frosting. This is a keeper! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I needed to use up some buttermilk and this was a good way to do it. More like chocolate cake than brownies, though. I doubled the frosting and was glad I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Cindy Lynn thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe with everyone.The brownies were amazing, so mellow and rich. My DH doesn't like nuts so I omitted them, and used coffee instead of water. I made a mocha frosting to top them off. Superb.... Updated...from (5/12/04) I have tried many different brownie recipes on Zaar since I joined in /04...and these remain my favourites. I make these just for me, when I want to be naughty and indulge in total decadence. (May 12/04)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      These brownies are delicious! Both of my teenagers loved them. The recipe is easy, and the frosting is just right. Thanks so much for sharing these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      Cindy Lynn, these really moist cake like brownies are a major hit with my family and friends. I don't know how many times I've printed the recipe out now for others (and/or have been blamed for subsequent weight gain. LOL) They are a *bit* cumbersome to make if you're a busy gal like me, but the end result is certainly worth it. I didn't add the nuts to the frosting. I folded them into the brownie base mix itself. Most of the people I gave the recipe to, however, had the nuts in the frosting and LOVED it. Thanks for submitting this. It'll be a staple recipe at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      LOVED THESE! I was debating between this and a buttermilk choc cake (which i soon realised was Cindy Lynn's choc cake - so i thought i can try both anyway). I didn't have the pan size intended so i used to swiss roll trays - i think i would use one next time to get a thicker brownie. I agree with other reviews that this is definitly more cakey. I used normal water instead of coffee - though I would love to try it with some coffee. I was a bit worried about not sifting the flour as i am a sifting freak. ALso, once i took them out of the oven i read "frost immediately" - whoops. So i was running around the kitchen trying to make a frosting. But it worked perfectly. Thanks for posting. Happy cooking. Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This is delicious and we all enjoyed it - but to us it's definitely cake, not brownies. In fact, it's a lot like Texas Sheet cake, not that that's a bad thing :) I didn't have the pan size that the recipe called for, so I used a 9 x 13 pan and it worked fine. When I poured the batter into the pan I was concerned because it was a very thin batter, not like a usual brownie batter. That's when I realized that this is a lot like Texas Sheet cake. But it all worked out in the end and it made a wonderful dessert for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.8
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    41%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 54.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 266.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 37.5 g
    150%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes