32 Reviews

Oh my gosh!! These are so decadent! It's my first attempt at brownies from scratch, so I was a bit intimidated by all the steps - but it really was a snap, once I got all the ingredients lined up. The brownies are more cakey than fudgey, which I love, and the frosting is nice and fudgey - as it should be! :) Thanks, Cindy Lynn

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Pizza September 15, 2002

OMG, Cindy Lynn, these brownies are magnificent!!!!! I thought your chocolate cake was TOP-DOG, but these run neck-in-neck with it! They are just soooooo good! Followed your directions, and BTW, used your buttermilk recipe, of course! They're real easy to mix up and bake, and the taste is just wunnerful, wunnerful, wunnerful!! Can't thank you enough for sharing such a great recipe. Laudee C.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee November 25, 2002

Whoops!!! Make sure that you don't mix the buttermilk mix with the dry ingredients too vigorously, because they really get gooey! (just as Cindy warned they would) Even with the buttermilk clumps, they still tasted verrry good :) Next time I'll be a bit more careful.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne G. January 06, 2003

Superb and definitely a make-again brownie recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 16, 2003

OMG were these sooooooo good. I think I ate 4 servings in one shot. These brownies came out more like a light fudgy cake. I made a chocolate frosting to go over it. It wasn't the frosting you have posted because I didn't have powdered sugar in the house. I actually made a pleasant mistake. I used orange extract instead of vanilla extract in the chocolate frosting. I went with it and poured it over the brownies. WOW! is all I can say. This recipe is a definite keeper. (And the frosting too.) My frosting was 2/3 cup brown sugar, 3 TBSP butter, 1/3 cup chocolate chips, 3 TBSP Milk, 1 tsp. vanilla or orange extract. Combine brown sugar , milk and butter in saucepan and boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and add vanilla (or orange extract) and chocolate chips. Beat until ready to spread or just let cool and pour over brownies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K Lo January 02, 2011

These brownies taste great. We really enjoyed them. My problem is with the frosting. How do you get it to spread. I make them once, and couldn't get the icing to spread at all, but thought I must have done something wrong. I made them again tonight , and found that I had the same problem. The icing is almost like fudge, and I couldn't get it to spread without destroying the brownies. I'd give it a five for taste, but a three because I couldn't make it look right.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piano Girl April 23, 2008

as other reviewers mentioned, I am a seasoned baker. the batter did not mix well for me and now I have a tray of brownies full of hard little chunks of buttermilk batter. ugh. frosting was very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina P. April 21, 2016

i really wanted to like this recipe. If I could only rate it on taste and ease I would give it more stars but here is the deal, I can t mix this without getting buttermilk clumps in the batter. ( I have tried to make this twice, first time I might have overbeat the flour and buttermilk but the second time it happened, I just beat it enough to mix it.). I ended up having to strain the batter to get the lumps out. If anyone can tell me how to make this without the lumps I would def try this recipe again. Until then moving on to another brownie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John P. September 03, 2015

I got a free cup of coffee with my breakfast sandwich at the drive thru. The only thing is that no one in our house drinks coffee. I came across this recipe trying to find something to use up my buttermilk. Bonus, I got to use the buttermilk and the coffee. I am glad that I checked these before the timer went off. It still had five minutes on the timer and they were done. The brownies were more cake like than like brownies, but still very tasty. The icing was thick and not pourable. But again, still very tasty. We left off the nuts due to allergies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 01, 2014

I can't give this a rating because they did not turn out for me,, and I'm hoping for some feedback as to what I might have done wrong. I'm middle-aged,, I've cooked and baked plenty in my time, but I think they ended up being a disaster and I'm not happy about all those ingredients wasted. I'm not here to bash the recipe at all, but to try and figure out what on earth I did wrong.<br/><br/>For one thing, the batter was not thick as mentioned in the directions, but that's the least of my problems with the recipe. <br/><br/>After baking, most (but not all) of the brownie has a pebble like texture. Very weird, and I've never seen anything like it. I thought it was just a surface issue, and I could kinda scrap it off, but this very weird pebble consistency is not just on the surface, but goes deeper into the brownie. I tasted it,, and there's really no particular taste.<br/><br/>If you're wondering if I've eaten a piece of the brownie,, I haven't. I tasted the batter,, (which was not thick but did taste good),, and I tasted a bit of that pebble-like area I mentioned, and now I have a bizarre,, (and nasty) stomach ache. <br/><br/>Does anyone have any ideas??<br/><br/>The only thing I can think of is that the hot coco mixture that gets added to the flour/buttermilk/egg mixture curdled/cooked the eggs. <br/><br/>(The recipe does not state to completely cool the coco mixture or to tempura the egg mixture).<br/><br/>Any ideas?? (I'm not sure if I'm going to even let my family try the baked product. I think once they taste the bizarre pebbles, they're not going to like it anyway). <br/><br/>If I ever try this recipe again,, I will make the coco part well in advanced,, and make sure it's 100% cool before adding it to the rest of the ingredients.<br/><br/>Thank you!<br/><br/>I also ended up with a nasty st

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lvlglass June 15, 2014
Buttermilk Brownies