Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Bread for the bread machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Bread for the bread machine

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2008

      I was looking for recipes to use my extra buttermilk and found this one-and I'm so glad I did! I followed recipe exactly for one loaf and for the second loaf I used 1 cup whole wheat flour plus 2 cups bread flour and I added minced garlic and black pepper. Both loaves were wonderful and the buttermilk really adds some zip-great for sandwiches! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!! Update: leftovers also make great croutons-toss bread cubes w/ evoo, sprinkle w/ seasoned salt and bake at 350F for 30 minutes-delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      Very nice bread! The crust was a little chewy(in a good way!)and the middle was soft and fluffy. This bread makes for some wonderful sandwiches! I set the bread machine on 'light crust' and it came out perfect. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      We have tried a number of recipes for bread machine bread and so far this is the BEST! I used multigrain bread flour and the results were outstanding...nice dark crust with a fluffy white interior. Give this one a try...it's going in MY cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2014

      This is a great recipe! I used the delay feature on my bread machine to bake mine so it was just finishing when I got up this morning. Wonderful texture and flavor...definitely going to make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Good soft chewy bread & nice simple ingredients. I made this to go with homemade chicken noodle soup for my sick little one and both kids enjoyed with a little honey. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      The Buttermilk bread just came out of my Bread Machine. Wow, this is a keeper for sure! Thank you for sharing it with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2014

      Very good recipe! I used avocado to replace butter that made the bread had more texture. My kids finished the bread in an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      Very good ! I made on dough cycle (actually the white bread cycle but took it out before it baked ) and let rise until doubled in a buttered oaf pan in a warm place. Baked for 40 minutes at 350 and it tastes like the $6/loaf buttermilk bread from our bakery. Added 1 tablespoon of honey in with liquids and the entire house smelled like milk and honey for hours. Nice touch to the flavour. I baked mine before bed, left to cool in the pan overnight, and took it out of the pan and put in the oven at 400 for 5 minutes to recrisp the bottom crust. Store cut edge down on a cutting board to preserve the nice crisp crust and fluffy inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

    • on March 28, 2013

      Followed the instructions to the T and it came out soft on the inside and nice and crusty on the outside. I used the dry buttermilk you mix with water. I can't keep up with this brew as my family tears into it so quickly. I find this to be a keeper for sandwiches

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      I used Friendship light buttermilk, canola oil instead of butter, and 2 cups AP flour and 1 cup wheat flour as I'm trying to cut back on using white flour. I did the Basic Medium 2-lb cycle on my bread machine, it came out with a nice sandwich bread crust on top, firmer crust on the sides and bottom, and wonderfully fluffy inside. I enjoyed it with some lemon curd fresh out of the bread machine. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Great bread, moist... I have made it for gifts and everyone enjoys it. I will be making it for my Chirstmas gifts....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I have made this twice now. The first time, I followed the directions exactly using King Arthur all purpose flour and the dough was on the soft side. I had to add in quite a bit of extra flour. This time, I used 1 cup of King Arthur white whole wheat and 2 cups of King Arthur bread flour and it made an excellent bread. Soft, with a nice firm texture. I used the dough cycle and baked it in the oven. I also added 1 teaspoon of diastatic malt (also from King Arthur). This made wonderful sandwiches today (we toasted the bread)! Toni, thanks for the great recipe. Now I have a really good use for all of the old buttermilk I seem to accumulate!! Thank you also for providing the oven directions!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      This was just so very good warm and when cooled I used what was left of it for #4417 Caramel Bread Pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      I made this today on the delay timer of my ABM. I don't know what happened but my loaf raised so much it was stuck to the top of the machine. Next time I will bake it in the oven. The flavor was yummy and the texture was light and VERY soft.I used reconstituted buttermilk and that seemed to taste just fine. Nothing beats walking into the house after a long day at work to find the aroma of homemade bread.!! The crock was done & so was the rice cooker - I was in heaven !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Wonderful flavor and texture. I served this with homemade vegetable beef soup and chili. Everyone there gobbled it up and asked if there was more... I know this will be one of my top recipes for the machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      Excellent bread-beautiful loaf and great flavor. I made this just as stated in the bread machine, with the exception of melting the butter first in the warmed buttermilk. Flour to liquid ratio was perfect, and raised nicely. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Very good! Nice soft crumb and even texture! I needed a larger loaf so I made it with 4 1/4 cups flour and added 2 eggs. I like a little more salt so I increased it to 2 1/2 teaspoons Kosher salt. I used the light crust setting. It just came out of the machine and it's delicious! Next time I'll glaze the top crust to make it shine and bake it on medium crust setting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Bread for the bread machine

    Serving Size: 1 (761 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 930.5
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    14%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 36.6 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1411.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 170.8 g
    56%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    106%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes