41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very similar to the recipe I use--love it! I reduce the sugar to 2/3 cup, use all whole wheat flour (adding 1 1/2 tsp bkg powder and 1/4 cup milk or some yogurt to make up for it) and add some cinnamon when I make them. I also soak the bran in the buttermilk for 10 minutes before mixing in the rest.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mich26 November 30, 2009

I've made these as written and they are great (note that they make a bigger batch than many recipes) but I now make a few alterations to up the "healthy factor". I use 3/4 C packed brown sugar, whole wheat pastry flour and applesauce in place of the oil. I also measure a little generously with the molasses (black strap) because I love it and it's great iron. Thanks so much for sharing this! My kids enjoy it also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MN*Kelly June 16, 2010

These are delicious!! I'm not much into healthy, so I used all of the sugar, halved the recipe and added about 1/2 cup raisins. I did the math in my head and forgot and put 2 tablespoons of molasses in. The batter was a bit runny and I had to bake about 3 extra minutes. In spite of this error, they rose beautifully and were super. Very easy to put together and clean up after. Marg, thanks for sharing your recipe! Great story to go along with it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose February 19, 2014

I had two boxes of Wheat Bran cereal. No one liked it. Eureka! I found this recipe. I make them, wrap them, freeze and thaw, warm and have the best muffins ever! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song September 27, 2012

Great basic bran muffin recipe, really easy to make. I did not add anything to the muffins, but next time would consider adding fruit or nuts. Fantastic recipe for using up a litre of buttermilk!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconut_chip May 12, 2012

Amazing, moist muffins! I halved the recipe and added chopped 1/4 cup of oatmeal, almonds, craisins, cinnamon and ground ginger, subbed honey for molasses since that's what I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flatlanderinVT January 03, 2012

Soft, just slightly sweet and wonderful! I didn't have wheat bran so adjusted by soaking some Fiber One cereal in the buttermilk and proceeded from there. Left 1/2 pure and topped the remaining 2/3 with some raisins and dried cranberries reconstituted in some apple liqueur. Any cereal that didn't soften were mistaken for nuts because of the bit of crunch. Mixed all before bed. Preheated the oven while coffee brewed and I showered, baked while I dressed. My office thought I must have gotten up at 4AM to bake for them. These were enjoyed by everyone! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance June 02, 2011

Great breakfast muffins. I made half a recipe to get twelve wonderful muffins. I did add dried apple chunks. Will try other fruit next time just for variety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 18, 2011

First time reviewing a recipe on here and i use it almost every day. These muffins are very good. I made no changes either except to add raisins to the mix. Perfect timing and raised beautifully. It made almost 2 dozen regular sized muffins plus 12 mini muffins. My 20 month old ate 3 right away..so thats a good muffin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neely_c May 09, 2011

Really great recipe. Made as directed and they came out really tasty! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes September 10, 2010
Buttermilk Bran Muffins