Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Bran Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Bran Loaf

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2004

      This was soooo good. Rich, dark, sweet and chock full of raisins. Mine took a little longer to cook - maybe another 10 minutes. I used two different types of raisins for color variety. This loked and smelled great, and tasted ever better. Perfect choice for breakfast and this is a nice accompaniment to a cup of tea. MMMMMM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      This was just ok.. as others suggested the cooking time needs to be increased. I increased it by 10 minutes and I still had a loaf that was a bit uncooked in the middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This bread is truly fantastic, rich taste, very filling and healthy! Exchanged the raisins with pumpkin seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This is very good and a perfect way to get your fiber in the morning. I'll be sending my husband to work with a slice of this to have on his way to work. I had it in the oven for 40 minutes and it wasn't quite cooked in the middle so I'll be sure to cook it longer next time. I added nuts and next time I'll try blueberries or strawberries because I think they'd make a nice addition. I love that this is so healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Oh, Jenny, this was so good! I love bran muffins and have been looking for a healthy bread and this was just perfect. I kept thinking that there had to be a misprint b/c there wasn't any eggs or butter (other than in the milk, of course), but it turned out so well. I had to use up some strawberries so I substituted them in for the raisins. It was super moist even the next day. Can't comment on how well it would keep after that. I have a feeling it will never last longer than a day or two... :) Thanks! Update: This has become a weekly/bi-weekly staple in our house. It is such an adaptable recipe (melon, banana, berries, cranberries all work well) and a great healthy snack or breakfast. Oh, and talk about easy! Thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This bran loaf is delicious. I made mine without raisins and it was perfect. Not too moist, definately not dry. I like the fact that there is NO white flour in this recipe. Bran is the main ingredient, thats why I chose it. Very easy to make too, no cup cake pans to fill. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This was so easy and so good. And healthy too. I used succanat instead of the brown sugar, and dried cranberries and slivered almonds. It almost reminds me of banana bread. Makes a good quick breakfast, I'll make this often. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      Yummy. Since I never have buttermilk on-hand, I substitute 1tbsp of vinegar in each cup of milk and it comes out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      I followed the recipe without altering any of the ingredients and this bread came out excellent. I needed about another 15 minutes cooking time in my oven. It is a moist bread with a nice density to it. Not as dense as I thought a bread made with only whole wheat flour would be. I love raisins and the bread had plenty for me. Definitely will make again. thanks for the nice healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      This is a great healthy recipe. The flavor was really good and the texture just right. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      A very moist dense loaf. I added about 3/4 Tbsp ground cinnamon and 1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg. I also used saltana raisins. Next time some added nuts might be wonderful. I really liked it and plan to make it many times. I think this would make a nice gift idea too. Very filling. I plan on freezing some slices for those busy mornings. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Bran Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.2
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    13%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 205.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 26.8 g
    107%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites