Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Biscuits - Southern Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Biscuits - Southern

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2014

      Great biscuits! For years of I've only used shortening in biscuits; using butter of course gave great flavor but the texture was just a good. I made the recipe as written other than cutting it down to two servings. So good - will make these again and again! Made for Culinary Quest 2014 Cruisin' Culinary Queens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      Amazing!!! We all loved these biscuits. They were so easy to make, too! My batch made 12 perfect biscuits. Almost all were eaten at dinner (by...ahem...3 people). I'm glad there are a few leftover for breakfast. Delish! Made for the International Agents of QUEST for the Culinary Quest US Southern region.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      Loved these! Reminded me of my Aunt Priscilla's biscuits that I loved!!! Made for CQ 2014 and the Cake Pops!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      Add another Culinary Quest'er (2014) here to give you my 5 stars. I made half the recipe and love that it uses buttermilk. I got big light biscuits and will certainly come back to this recipe. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      Wonderful biscuits!!! I am a huge fan of biscuits and try so many recipes, in order to the find the best one. I would rank this one up there with the best 3 for me. I did use "White Lily" self-rising flour, then added the baking soda. I left out the sugar as I don't need that in my diet (per Dr.'s orders, lol) and prefer the more savory type of biscuit, and did add a couple of tablespoons of minced chives. I made four biscuits for this morning and then I froze the unbaked biscuits(5), and will make them fresh later this week and month. Thanks for sharing such a great biscuit recipe!!! Made for CQ 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      These buttermilk biscuits are wonderful. We really enjoyed the flavor and fluffy texture of the biscuit. They were quick and easy to make with excellent results. Just as good toasted as they are out of the oven. Thanks for sharing another winning recipe Mrs. Goodall. Made for Culinary Quest - Southern USA for the Suitcase Gourmets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Wow, these were really good! I haven't had biscuits that good since my friends mom made biscuits and gravy for us 20 years ago. Much better than the typical restaurant fare. I'll be making these again! I had to use milk lemon juice and a touch of vinegar instead of buttermilk, but they still turned out great. The combination of flours seemed to help give it that tender, fluffy texture I love. Even with substitute buttermilk, the butter came through with lots of flavor. I'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This is a great recipe! Simple! I made the dough in about 5 min. used the cake flour to pat out and cut and then put most in the freezer and baked some to see the finished product. Made the frozen ones to take in the motorhome so we have fresh homemade biscuits with fresh/frozen homemade gravy......ewwlala! LOL Enjoy! Sandy Sandvik~ALASKA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      I made these biscuits last night and have to admit these are the BEST! I have ever made. Super fluffy and I love the idea (which I never knew before) to place them close together in a pan to have soft edges. I had never used cake flour before either. This is now my #1 favorite all time biscuit recipe, and could easily be the top rated. I think the unsalted butter and buttermilk are KEY !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Biscuits - Southern

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.8
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    39%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 31.7 mg
    10%
    Sodium 462.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites