Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Biscuits and Pepper Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Biscuits and Pepper Gravy

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2008

      I was looking for a recipe like my nanny's, who didn't use any measurements at all. This had all the right ingredients. The only thing is the biscuits came out a little to hard and not quite like biscuits when followed exactly but all I had to do was add atleast 1/2 more buttermilk and they came out perfect. Other than that excellent recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I made just the gravy portion of this recipe which tasted amazing. However I found that it was a bit too salty and way over peppered. Next time I will use only half the stated amount. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I am not a big fan of sausage so do not often have it in the house. Someone had given me a ton of biscuits at work and I really wanted gravy. This recipe was perfect, easy and satisfying! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I used my biscuit recipe but made your pepper gravy. Delicious with some Fried Chicken and Coleslaw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Loved this recipe! I, too, was looking for a gravy without sausage and this fit the bill. I will definitely be making this again. I did add about 1/4 cup more milk to the gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I only made the gravy and used some canned biscuits. This is excellent when you don't have bacon grease. I did throw in a little bouillon for extra flavor. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I forgot to buy sausage when stocking up for visitors. I used this recipe and everyone LOVED it! Thanks soooo much! Even if I do remember sausage next time, I'll still probably use this recipe and just add to it! GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      We were snowed in and craving biscuts and gravy. I didn't have sausage, so I was looking for a simple recipe. This recipe certainly fixed our craving. My husband didn't miss the sausage. He had 2 1/2 servings! He paid for it when everything expanded in his stomach, though. Next time I think I'll try sausage, but this is a great meatless version. I'll keep it around for my vegetarian friends (we didn't use the bacon grease).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Biscuits and Pepper Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 506.4
     
    Calories from Fat 266
    52%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 13.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1607.9 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites