41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Followed this, well my 9 y/o did, but added only butter not short and we added 1 C water and enough buttermilk powder to equal 1 C.. They baked up light, airy and golden brown .. about 2 1/2 inches high. A KEEPER !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco December 13, 2007

I have tried many buscuit recipes and couldnt find what I was looking for, I HAVE NOW FOUND IT! These are wonderful! My hubby & kids love them! I have made them several times this week, I would figure the family would be sick of them but they keep asking for them! Thank you soooooo much for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieW December 01, 2007

Very good. Mine didn't come out like the picture but they had a good flavor, served with vegetarian sausage gravy. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Holmes November 23, 2007

I used these to top off a chicken pie and they were so good! Great flavor, light and fluffy. Will make again and again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec September 21, 2007

Great biscuits! I am "biscuit challenged" and these turned out fine even for me! DH was quite impressed, as he's been the "victim" of my biscuit attempts for a long time. They are light and soft with good flavor. I made them with Buttermilk Chicken Buttermilk Chicken and dinner was a hit! They warmed up nicely for breakfast the next day, too. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellymike June 27, 2007

This is a great recipe. The biscuits came out light, fluffy and very delicious. Thank you for telling us about the needing of the dough. Now I know why my Jiffy biscuit mixes came out hard (i kept using a rolling pin). Also, this recipe is better than the supermarket brands because the ingredients are all natural & the product is fresh. What people don't know is that the store brands use chemical based dough conditioners, artificial flavors and preservatives, and I believe that they've contributed to the health crisis we have in this country. Making food from scratch with whole ingredients is how we cooked for hundreds of years, not buying off the shelf frozen or prepackaged.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nymsrandi1 June 23, 2007

Sue L, thanks for the excellent recipe. To keep it simple I just use self-rising flour, shortening and buttermilk. The recipe comes out perfect. When the biscuits are done, I use low broil for a few seconds to give them good color. This is the recipe I now use for making biscuits. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carah'sMama March 05, 2007

I thought this was a good average recipe. I did not get the rise out of the biscuits that I was hoping for, however, they're a good solid biscuit to serve with gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunnybono November 04, 2006

We loved these biscuits. The only change was to use butter instead of shortening. We also used Christmas cookie cutters and had gingerbread man shaped biscuits!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fab.butcher October 29, 2006

Oh my word. These are *perfect*. 5 stars! Perfect! They rose beautifully, they are light and fluffy and flavorful. Perfect biscuits!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie October 15, 2006
Buttermilk Biscuits