Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2007

      Followed this, well my 9 y/o did, but added only butter not short and we added 1 C water and enough buttermilk powder to equal 1 C.. They baked up light, airy and golden brown .. about 2 1/2 inches high. A KEEPER !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      I have tried many buscuit recipes and couldnt find what I was looking for, I HAVE NOW FOUND IT! These are wonderful! My hubby & kids love them! I have made them several times this week, I would figure the family would be sick of them but they keep asking for them! Thank you soooooo much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Very good. Mine didn't come out like the picture but they had a good flavor, served with vegetarian sausage gravy. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      I used these to top off a chicken pie and they were so good! Great flavor, light and fluffy. Will make again and again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Great biscuits! I am "biscuit challenged" and these turned out fine even for me! DH was quite impressed, as he's been the "victim" of my biscuit attempts for a long time. They are light and soft with good flavor. I made them with Buttermilk Chicken Buttermilk Chicken and dinner was a hit! They warmed up nicely for breakfast the next day, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      This is a great recipe. The biscuits came out light, fluffy and very delicious. Thank you for telling us about the needing of the dough. Now I know why my Jiffy biscuit mixes came out hard (i kept using a rolling pin). Also, this recipe is better than the supermarket brands because the ingredients are all natural & the product is fresh. What people don't know is that the store brands use chemical based dough conditioners, artificial flavors and preservatives, and I believe that they've contributed to the health crisis we have in this country. Making food from scratch with whole ingredients is how we cooked for hundreds of years, not buying off the shelf frozen or prepackaged.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Sue L, thanks for the excellent recipe. To keep it simple I just use self-rising flour, shortening and buttermilk. The recipe comes out perfect. When the biscuits are done, I use low broil for a few seconds to give them good color. This is the recipe I now use for making biscuits. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      I thought this was a good average recipe. I did not get the rise out of the biscuits that I was hoping for, however, they're a good solid biscuit to serve with gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      We loved these biscuits. The only change was to use butter instead of shortening. We also used Christmas cookie cutters and had gingerbread man shaped biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Oh my word. These are *perfect*. 5 stars! Perfect! They rose beautifully, they are light and fluffy and flavorful. Perfect biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      This is the same recipe I always use, except I use water or milk instead of buttermilk, and I always add 1/4 cup sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Just like bisquick but cheaper. Mine also didn't raise like the pic, due I think, to mixing in a food processor. But very good, I added a bag (2 cups) shredded cheddar and before they went in the over I sprayed the tops with non-stick spray and sprinkled with garlic powder.. the smell...mmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Hooray!!! I made bicuits!!!!!!!! These are easy and good. Mine didn't rise as high as the picture but my baking powder is almost gone so it might have been a little old for it. I did have to use a little extra flour. I was afraid I handled it too much but they were nice and tender. I even pieced together the scrap dough and made a few more and they were good too. Not tough at all. I made mine big. I only got 8 biscuits out of it. I also used butter instead of shortening. My shortening was a little iffy looking so I tossed it. I will try these again with the shortening and fresh baking powder to see the difference. Yum!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Oh... wow. I didn't have shortening so I used light butter (stick) along with low fat buttermilk and there were superb. Sweet, buttery - a perfect balance. I made it a point to handle the dough as little as possible and it paid off with soft buscuits. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I am thowing my old homemade biscuit recipe out the window! I did add two tablespoons of butter along with the shorting. These biscuits remind me of KFC biscuits, and evertime I go to KFC I get about 5 of them. Great job, thanks for shareing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      Buscuit queen here...these are the best! I could eat these with anything! Was aching to try them so I made them to go along with beef stew...wonderful! Tried to pace myself and not eat all of them at dinner, ended up finishing them as desert with some honey butter! Thanks! (hope amberluv tries again!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      i dont know what went wrong but i followed the recipe but my biscuits taste like shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      This recipe is tops! These biscuits melt in your mouth! Better than canned refrigerator biscuits from the store! Thank you sooooo much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      This recipe is quick and easy. They just melt in your mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      These biscuits were so tasty, light, and flaky. My great-grandmother was known in our family for light delicious biscuits and so no one ever really attempted to match them. I can now bring these to family functions with pride! The only change I will make next time - ---- make more!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    50%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 235.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites