Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2004

      Had to use up some buttermilk so decided on these biscuits, soo happy I did, they were wonderful fluffy light as a feather biscuits!! Didn't have to add more flour, 1 cup buttermilk was exactly right. I only got 10 biscuits because I wanted big ones and used a very large floured glass. They were perfect under a stew and just buttered!! Thanks for sharing Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      This is an easy favorite!! I doubled the recipe to feed my family of 6 and it still turned out perfectly!!! We served under our favorite homemade pepper milk gravy and it was all soooooo good!!! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      This was excellent. Easy to make and no additional flour was needed as suggested. The flavor was great and they were real light and flaky as biscuits should be. Great with biscuits and gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      I could not get my biscuits to rise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      This is hands down the best buttermilk biscuit recipe on this site so far. The dough was extremely easy to work with and the biscuits baked up lite, fluffy and tasted great. I mixed the the dry ingredients, plus the shortening in my food processor (couple of pulses) to make it easier to blend in the shortening. I also lightly brushed the tops with a bit of extra buttermilk before baking. Thanks for sharing the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      These biscuits came out great! Light, airy, and tender. I reduced the temp to 425 and baked a little longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      These are excellent. My first attempt at a buttermilk biscuit and I chose the perfect recipe. I do think that the biscuits were smaller than I would have liked so next time I will make a few less so that I can get them a bit bigger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Wow! A biscuit recipe that even I cant ruin :) Thank you so much. They were super light and absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Prepared these as instructed in the recipe and they turned out great! Perfect for biscuits and gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      We all have the *oops* moments. So I can't rate due to the mistakes that I made. I always use buttermilk powder-add water, but noo did I do that? I was in the mood to 'make from scratch' So I added 1 Tbsp lemon juice and added enough milk to make 1 cup and walked away. When I added this into the mixture the milk was sour cream consistency on the bottom of the measuring cup. Another mistake I made was that I used a generic brand of 'pre-creamed' shortening just to save a couple of dollars since I only needed it to grease pans. They did not rise well to say the least. I consider myself a very good cook and this recipe gave me plenty of giggling that I actually ruined such an easy recipe-Well we still ate them, we had no choice! I served this with Beef Stew in a Pumpkin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This was the first time I've ever made biscuits that didn't come from a can and they were great. Very easy to make. I didn't have a biscuit cutter so I just rounded them. They weren't pretty looking but they were very good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      These are delicious and easy--a recipe which you can memorize and whip together in a couple of minutes while you are making other things for dinner. I make mine with the buttermilk that is left after I make homemade butter from raw milk! Then we top them with the freshly made butter. Google weston price to find a place you can purchase healthy raw milk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      #1 thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I made these last Sunday, I was disappointed. I want my buttermilk biscuits to taste like the bisquick buttermilk package i buy sometimes. A little sour with a crunch. These tasted nothing like that. I hate that bisquick pack only comes in individual packs rather than a box. I'll keep trying different recipes till I find a winner. This wasn't it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Made these using 1/2 wheat flour, and no salt. I used Smart Balance for the shortening, and dropped into big biscuits. Baked 10 min. Served w/butter mixture of 1/4 c. Smart Balance, 1/2 t. garlic powder, 1/4 t . Old Bay, and 1/2 t. parsely flakes, to serve w/spaghetti. Very good and fluffy. A favorite for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I have had difficulty in the past having good results with making biscuits. These were easy to make and they were very tasty and fluffy just like I imagined they would be. Super recipe! I will definately save this one for years to come. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Hi Sue welcome back. Another great recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this one. These melt in your mouth buttermilk biscuits were light, fluffy, tender and tasted just amazing. I served them on top of sloppy joes, they were perfect. I can't wait to try them with flavored butters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Very tasty! I substituted sour cream for buttermilk and they still came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      These were great. My first success at making biscuits! My only substitution was, I used vegan shortening (no trans fat--yay!!) to make these "healthier", and I did brush with a couple tbsp melted butter. They didn't rise a ton like the picture but still delicious and fluffy as described.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      These are great! Very easy to put together and the taste is wonderful. I thought that the texture was much better than most buscuits that I have made in the past. Followed the recipe as printed. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    50%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 235.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites