Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Batter-Fried Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Batter-Fried Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2003

      Just like in the restaurant--no wait, better because they're so fresh! I used two smallish onions and had about half the batter leftover. I served this Dancer's Buttermilk Garlic Dressing (as a dip) and with Big John's Buttermilk Meatballs. Thanks for posting this, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I made these awhile ago and just realized when I came to look up the recipe to make them again that I never rated them! These turned out great! We were craving a pub meal without the pub price and these with some burgers and beer did the trick. The best part is that I put the oven on about 200 degrees and was able to hold them for about 20 minutes while the rest of the meal came together and they were still crisp and wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I used this batter on fish it turned out wonderful. Thank you very much. Chef #220151

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      These onions ring were delicious! The batter was a perfect balance of puff & crunch. I used sweet onions and lightly dredged the sliced onions in flour before dipping them into the batter (for better adhersion). These were gone 3 minutes after I fried em up. Will definitely be making these again. I'd also love to try this batter on other items such as shrimp or fish. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Thanks Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      Oh my gosh were these delicious. They tasted just like restaurant style onion rings. I couldn't stop eating them. I kept frying them and as soon as they were cool enough it would pop one in my mouth. Delicious!!! Thank you for sharing. I follow the recipe exactly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Halved this recipe for myself for lunch. Had great great flavors. Once in a great while, I will go to a local bar here that has great hamburgers, and onion rings, which I usually order. No comparison, these were top notch, and had this with one of my hamburger recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      These were amazing. My husband ate them standing up right at the stove. That's probably one of the highest accolades he's ever given. He also asked if I'd written the recipe down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Super easy and great tasting. I did not have buttermilk on hand so I made my own with 1 cup milk and 1 tablespoon white vinegar. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      This recipe is Dee-lish! My family was craving onion rings so I thought I would try making them from scratch. This was a very easy and tasty recipe which I will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Very good. Served w/a Red Robins type sauce (1/2 cup mayonaise and some bbq sauce). I had to add a little more flour then called for to get the correct assistance, but otherwise didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This was an excellent recipe. I dredged my onions in plain ap flour first then put in the buttermilk batter. Fried in Crisco and they were delicious. Then only thing I would change next time is I would add more salt. The kids were happy and they stayed crispy for over 1 hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I didn't have a lot of time to prepare the onions so I made it simple: buttermilk and flour. Worked exactly the same and tasted great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Great recipe. I added a little salt, the batter was slightly bland at first. I also shook the onions in a little flour before dipping them in the batter, it helps it adhere just a little better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Truly outstanding onion rings--better than any I've ever eaten at a restaurant, or previously made myself!! The batter is just perfect: I think it could also be used on several other vegetables with great results, and next time I plan to try it on zucchini and eggplant. The only changes I made to the recipe were to use whole wheat pastry flour, and sodium-free baking powder; and both worked out fine. I adore the recipes you've posted, Bev--thanks for sharing this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Loved these. I, as another, didn't have my oil hot enough for the first batch. However, after getting the oil hot enough, it kept setting off my smoke detector (think the new battery made it extra sensitive). These tasted great and we really liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I served these to DD and I with a huge smile on my face, after tasting the first one out of the fryer. I may have a new addiction here! Gosh, were they great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      OH WOW!! DELICIOUS!!! I couldn't believe when I finally got to eat some of these I had made them. These are well worth what it takes to make these onion rings. They are much better then you buy in any grocery store. A lot better then I have had at any restaurant or fair. My DH and 11 year old DS just loved them. They wouldn't stop eating them. I finally had to sneak some off just so that I could taste them. We normally don't keep buttermilk in the house but I told my DH after making these we are going to keep it in the house! Wonderful recipe for onion rings. I will never go back to store bought again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      These have a wonderful flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      An excellent recipe! Celebrating Canada Day, I prepared burgers etc with all the fixins'. With big vidalia onions just screaming at me (they wanted to swim in the deep fryer!) I just had to give in (I deep fry 2-3 times a year) and we're all so glad I did!! Easy, quick and soooooo delicious! The batter is just right - thanks Bev for a real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      I made this recipe according to the directions allowing the batter time to rest before frying. I also weighed my flour to get a true 8oz. The batter was amazing light and crunchy everyone commented on how good it was. Thanks Bev this was outstanding

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Batter-Fried Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.5
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    39%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 4.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 513.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites