30 Reviews

having leftover buttermilk and bananas I wanted to bake a quick bread, found this recipe. Read all reviews & made some changes:
used applesauce in place of butter (dietary restrictions), used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of white, a pinch of salt to bring out the sweetness, added some cinnamon and chopped walnuts to the final mix. Before baking batter tasted delicious. After baking tasted even better! 0nce cooled, wrapped in wax paper, that way it doesn't "weep" as when wrapped w/plastic wrap. Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eyelov2cook September 27, 2011

I had been looking for a banana bread recipe for years and was never happy until I found this one. Cooking it at a lower temperature for longer gives a wonderful crust. Try this, you won't regret it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leahmac October 12, 2011

I'm giving it 5 stars because everyone loves it. I think it's very good but I continue to receive requests for more banana bread loaves once people get a taste. It is very moist, sweet but not overly so and it does not have an overwhelming banana flavor which I don't care for. Thanks for the sharing the recipe; it's a definite keeper! ** I stopped using buttermilk in recipes that call for it. I once had none and I googled "substitutes" and discovered that adding 1 tbsp (tablespoon) of apple cidar vinegar to 1 cup of milk and letting it stand for 5 minutes is not only a great substitute but can actually render a recipe more flavorful. I've tested this out numerous times by making the original recipe containing buttermilk and my milk/apple cidar vinegar combo. I then did a taste test and everyone preferred the substitute. I do this with all recipes now. To each their own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Montreal March 06, 2010

Very good! This made a dense but still delcious tasy and moist banana loaf!I baked mine for 1 hour and 20 minutes and came out very crusty! Yum! Thanks for the recipe Caramel pie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef November 20, 2006

This was truly delicious, probably my favorite. banana bread recipe. EVER! And so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjdenison1586 April 14, 2016

Best banana bread I've ever made! It turned out very moist and it rose to the top of the loaf pan. I added a cup of frozen blueberries before putting the batter in the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gtjones56 March 27, 2016

This is the best banana bread we've ever tasted! I love that I made it in one bowl and I didn't have to use my mixer! The only change I made was to reduce the sugar to 1 cup and I increased the bananas instead for extra banana flavor! So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley M. November 12, 2015

BEST banana bread ever! So moist and the crust is wonderful. I have made this twice already this week. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar and it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily O. May 31, 2015

Pretty great. Made some subs such as replaced half of the all purpose flour with wheat flour, butter with olive oil, and sugar with brown sugar. The crust it acquired was fantastic. Inside the bread was moist. Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shivanisharma2086 April 26, 2015

Gorgeous and perfect for lazy cooks. I like to make cakes all-in-one method and can confirm this works beautifully here! Just put all ingredients in an electric mixer, mix for 2-3 minutes on medium and pour in tin. Turned out delicious, such a nice texture, I added grated chocolate for a marbled chocolaty fast and walnuts instead of oecqns . fab recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen.deacon March 26, 2015
Buttermilk Banana Bread