Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2011

      having leftover buttermilk and bananas I wanted to bake a quick bread, found this recipe. Read all reviews & made some changes:
      used applesauce in place of butter (dietary restrictions), used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of white, a pinch of salt to bring out the sweetness, added some cinnamon and chopped walnuts to the final mix. Before baking batter tasted delicious. After baking tasted even better! 0nce cooled, wrapped in wax paper, that way it doesn't "weep" as when wrapped w/plastic wrap. Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      I had been looking for a banana bread recipe for years and was never happy until I found this one. Cooking it at a lower temperature for longer gives a wonderful crust. Try this, you won't regret it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I'm giving it 5 stars because everyone loves it. I think it's very good but I continue to receive requests for more banana bread loaves once people get a taste. It is very moist, sweet but not overly so and it does not have an overwhelming banana flavor which I don't care for. Thanks for the sharing the recipe; it's a definite keeper! ** I stopped using buttermilk in recipes that call for it. I once had none and I googled "substitutes" and discovered that adding 1 tbsp (tablespoon) of apple cidar vinegar to 1 cup of milk and letting it stand for 5 minutes is not only a great substitute but can actually render a recipe more flavorful. I've tested this out numerous times by making the original recipe containing buttermilk and my milk/apple cidar vinegar combo. I then did a taste test and everyone preferred the substitute. I do this with all recipes now. To each their own.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      This is the best buttermilk banana bread I have made and my husband loves it so much that I am making it again for him and for a club baking project! Last time I made a loaf and some mini loafs so we could give to friends, but my hubby ended up eating them! LOL!<br/>Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I made this recipe exactly as the recipe states and didn't change one thing. It is EXCELLENT and I have been searching for a banana bread recipe that was moist, where the crust is not too dark-"burnt", and that tasted like banana. This is THEE recipe! This is now my go to banana bread recipe! The low baking temp and the buttermilk is what I think makes it turn out soooooo good! For me, no substitutions or additions need or should be made. Try it just as the recipe is written and I know you won't be disappointed. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      I really like this recipe. First time made two loafs with only one cup of sugar. Tasted great but the butter is too much. Second time experimented with two more loafs. First loaf no butter but added non fat Greek yogurt instead. First loaf one cup of Coconut Palm sugar, second loaf one cup of white sugar and two Table spoons of oil. The white sugar loaf had a much lighter color. I think that I should have put a small amount of oil in the first loaf. The buttermilk and Greek yogurt combo worked great. I will try some brown sugar and pure Coconut sugar next time. Cut the sugar to one cup and use three large bananas per loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      I'm a banana bread fiend. I've make it weekly sometimes twice, and thought buttermilk would be a great addition by giving it a little zing behind the sweetness. I blurred the recipe a snippet by increasing the bananas by 1 and decreasing the sugar by half. The bread was a tad bland and a little spongy. Amazing moistness, beautiful shape and color though. Perhaps this is a good bread recipe to add in some extras.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      I have tried so many banana loafs and this is the best. It's moist and tastes like a banana loaf.
      luv it-luv.it-luv it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      Use kitchenaid mixer with paddle and you can complete this recipe to perfection in 1 bowl. Everything time it comes out a 10. The is better than other recipes because of its simplicity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Loved this recipe because I love to bake with buttermilk! I think it makes all the difference! Didn't have any nuts on hand, and was shy by 1/2 a cup on the banana because I doubled the recipe, so I drained a small can of pineapple---came out great! Had extra batter, so it actually yielded 2-9x5 and 2 small loaf pans---lots to share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      This is a fantastic recipe. I used shortening because I didn't have enough butter on hand (tripled the batch - lots of bad bananas in my house). I also used some whole wheat flour & Splenda for half the sugar. I was surprised that there wasn't any salt, actually had to double check the recipe before I tossed it in the oven. I omitted the nuts - kids don't like them - and added some mini chocolate chips. This is my new go-to banana bread recipe - love the crusty crust it gets. Thanks, CaramelPie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      This was really good- a great way to use up my bananas and buttermilk! I like that it used butter, too, instead of oil. Great recipe. I used half whole-wheat pastry flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      This is a moist and very tasty recipe that is as good as my Grandmother from the Bayou of Louisiana used to make. I highly recomment it and don't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

    • on October 04, 2008

      this is AMAZING banana bread. i only put in 1 cup of sugar and it was enough. i also added about 2 T of flaxseeds to the batter. SO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This is a Deeee-licious banana bread. Changes I made: used eggbeaters; added 1/2 tsp banana extract; omitted pecans. Made them into mini-muffins (made 48 @ 65 calories each -baked @ 300 deg. for 30 min.) The buttermilk flavor is not overpowering. My results were just right - not too dense, not too cakey. Caramel Pie, family says "This recipe is a KEEPER!" Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      Very good! This made a dense but still delcious tasy and moist banana loaf!I baked mine for 1 hour and 20 minutes and came out very crusty! Yum! Thanks for the recipe Caramel pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Made this for my family over the weekend and it got rave reviews. My daughter even took it in to work for a coworker and she loved it!!! I was skeptical about the 1 1 /2 hours at 300 degrees but worked perfectly. A real keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      Very nice banana bread. I ended up with a lovely loaf of near-perfect banana bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      Very tasty- one of the best! Thanks for posting CaramelPie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.8
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    40%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 226.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 24.9 g
    99%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes