Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttermilk Baked Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Baked Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2013

      I wonder what the buttermilk does for this recipe? Nevertheless it was very good. I felt like I was eating a mini pizza along with the rest of my dinner. I will definitely make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I must admit, I was reluctant to make this recipe as I wasn't sure what to expect. I sprinkled the tomatoes with pizza seasoning and the outcome was very good and looked very appetizing. I will most definitely make this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Enjoyed the flavours, thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      This was just ok for us. We served it with couscous, and a salad for a vegetarian meal. It may be something I make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Wow! I wasn't sure that I would like these because I'm not fond of buttermilk (other than in baked goods) but I gave it a try and they are delicious! I can see them becoming addictive as I'm already planning to make more tomorrow. Thanks Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Loved them!! I did try it with different cheese (bocconcinni), but I preferred the parmesan cheese. I cut them in half with the core on top as they sat better.... used a 1T measuring spoon (or mellon ball) to scoop out the flesh of the tomato...added the cheese, salt and pepper, then filled it with the buttermilk. I did make this ahead of time....let it sit on the counter to bring it to room temperature, then cooked it in my little toaster oven!! I made this with Rita's Veal Osso Buco (54107) and loved the presentation!! I would definately do this one again, because this is the 2 items that I always have in my house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      What a simple and tasty way to use up tomatoes! I made these a couple times at the end of the tomato season this year. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      This was good! I wasn't crazy about them by themselves so I cut them up and tossed them into salads. It added a really lovely taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      This was so good and is now in our regular rotation. I love adding fresh basil to them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      These were exceptional! I love tomatoes and these were a new way to prepare them. Can't wait until summer! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      Boy, oh, boy did this recipe surprise me. Had the ingredients and decided to just go for it. Nothing could be easier for a great side dish. However, I am looking forward to summer, as I think I could probably eat this every day. Next time, I will try the variation, but think I will mostly use the original. Thanks, Linda, for an easy, quick, delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      Oh my goodness, these were delicious and really hit the spot. Unfortunately I didn't have any parmesan on hand so I tried mozerella which was delicious but a little chewy. Will definitely make these again but with the parm. I also used a little Itlaian Seasoning which was a great choice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      You can't get much better for 1 point. It's filling, healthy, and delicious. So glad I found this recipe. It just may be my success! A great snack to tie u over for a big sunday night supper too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Thank you for this recipe, I have a non eating vegetable son (he will eat potatoes, tomatoes and mushrooms) so when this was suggested to me I was ecstatic. I sprinkled dried basil on ours and the flavours were wonderful. Excellent recipe. Served with prime rib.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      OH MY WORD!! I was looking forward to eating this as I started smelling in baking in the oven! I broiled it as directed, however I think i took it out too early because I could not resist wanting to try it! It was soooooo tasty! This will be what I am making for my lunch for the next several days, I have loads of tomatoes to use from my garden!! THANKS for putting this recipe on here!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      DH and I loved this recipe! So simple and tasty! I prepared as directed by the recipe, using no extra seasoning for this first time! I will branch out next time and try the different seasonings! Absolutely delicious using our vine ripe tomatoes! Linda B, This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      Very good. I always have a hard time finding side veggie dishes that my family all likes and agrees on and this one worked out great. We ate this aside fish and noodles; it's also a great veggie for a low carb dieter to eat. I forgot to add the Italian seasonings....next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      The buttermilk gave these baked tomatoes some "zing". I used Parmesan cheese and sprinkled the tops with a little basil. Very tasty! Thanks Linda B!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      A very tasty recipe. I added some fresh garlic to the buttermilk and topped off the cheese with some dill weed. I can't wait to serve these at my next dinner party. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      Made these about a week ago and soo sorry forgot to review them, they were delicious!! I used smoked Gouda cheese because that is what I had in and added fresh oregano from the garden, love the buttermilk, gives them a nice tang, we will be making these again, great recipe for all the fresh tomatoes this time of year. Thanks for sharing. — posted Jul 25, 2004,3 members found this helpful UPDATE: Used parmesan cheese this time and did the recipe exactly, they were just as good as we remembered, love them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Baked Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.3
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    33%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 6.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 133.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites