15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love mashed potatoes! This recipe is fantastic!!! The bite of the buttermilk is an excellent addition to this recipe and goes together perfectly with the chives. I will use this recipe often! Thanks Boomie!!! Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom July 01, 2009

Excellent. Loved the addition of the chives. I've made mashed potatoes with buttermilk before and really like it. DH usually doesn't eat leftover potatoes but he asked me to save these tonight. Very fluffy and very good. Thanks Made for Tic-Tac-Toe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 09, 2008

Love the buttermilk in this! I made this to go with some meatloaf, and it was just perfect. Thanks so much for sharing! Made for Market tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 30, 2013

Mashed potatoes are popular at our house, but I've never made them with buttermilk. What a fantastic option. I had a few extra potatoes, so slightly upped all the other ingredients. Used thin-skinned potatoes, which I never bother to peel, and mashed it all by hand. Absolutely scrumptious. The family attacked before I had time to get a pic. Maybe next time. :) Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy May 27, 2012

Excellent change from plain mashed spuds. Had some buttermilk in the fridge, so why not try these? I just used thinly sliced scallion tops instead of the chives. Didn't use a mixer, just hand mashed like crazy (good stress reliever) and they came out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fredbull1116 March 21, 2012

This is a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie_cakes March 19, 2012

Wow! This recipe is amazing. I'm not sure I'll ever want mashed potatoes any other way. Thanks so much for posting this fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 16, 2011

Mmm, what a yummy mash! I really liked the tang from the buttermilk with the sharp chives and earthy potatoes. The only change I made was to not use the butter and leave the mash a bit more chunky cause thats how I like it. :)
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this tasty recipe with us, Boomie!
Made and reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #49 February 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 02, 2011

Fantastic mashed potato recipe. The texture is smooth and silky. The flavor is great..love the taste of chives. Thanks for a great recipe! ~Made for Went to the Market Tag Game~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 10, 2008

Oh, yummy! These were so good. The only change I made was to steam my potatoes in my electric steamer because I have found this makes a really nice mash without a lot of extra liquid. From that point on I followed everything and we loved them. I really liked the slight tang that gave the mash a sour cream and chives vibe. I think next time (and there will be a next time) I will try sprinkling in just a little bit of cheese to melt in. I bet that would be good. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne October 30, 2008
Buttermilk and Chive Mashed Potatoes