Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butterhorns Aka Rugelach / Rugulach / Snails / Schnecken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butterhorns Aka Rugelach / Rugulach / Snails / Schnecken

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2010

      This is great! I am making this recipe tonight to take to the lounge room at the funeral home tomorrow where my family will be all day for my Aunt who passed away. I wanted something sweet, and easy to eat - finger food but not necessarily chocolate. Lets face it, EVERYONE brings chocolate - I like to be different. ;) This recipe was SO EASY! They TASTE GREAT! Major bonus points for this being so easy to follow that I was able to prep the dough and throw it in the fridge in the morning before work and then come home after a long day and not start filling and rolling until 10:00 p.m. AND THEY STILL TURNED OUT! My brain is fried right now from work, stress and exhaustion and I still managed to make these, and they taste good. It doesn't get better than that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2014

      I fell in love with all kinds of Austrian pastries while traveling in Austria and dining at Vienna's Demel. I made these cookies as one of my Christmas gifts for my dad last year. Since my dad has a nut allergy, I substituted toasted sesame seeds for the walnuts or pecans. The dough bakes to be light and flaky while the cinnamon, brown sugar filling melts and caramelizes developing a surprisingly deep, delicious taste. My father actually mistook the filling for date spread or fig jam because of its intensely fragrant flavor. Thank you, Karen=^..^=, for this beautiful Eastern European delight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      I've had rugelach tons of times growing up, and they never did anything for me. However, today I needed to make something for my in-laws, and I had a huge block of cream cheese from costco in the fridge, so I decided to make these. After they finished one, I tried it just to make sure it was edible, and... it was soooo good! I couldn't believe it! Maybe I DO like rugelach, and just never had had good ones! They were easy and gorgeous. Only substitution was hazelnuts for walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I was hoping that these would have a flakier pastry. They tasted fine, but maybe since it was the first time I ever ate them I was expecting them to be different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      This was so easy to make! My 9 yr old son helped and was so proud of himself, lol. They were delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      I don't think anyone should write a review if they don't follow the recipe as it appears. Especially if they leave out a crutial ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I made these today as part of my jump-start on Christmas baking. The dough was very easy to work with and the directions were simple to follow. Although the first couple of trays I made didn't look as pretty, once I got the hang of rolling and glazing I found the process to go very quickly. The taste was exactly what I was looking for. For some reason mine turned out too small for the optional "curving shape". Thank you so much for posting this recipe. These are a keeper and I'm glad I decided to try them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I had an old recipe for Rugelach that I misplaced, and when I saw this recipe, I was hoping that it would be the same one. That didn't work out, but they were good, tho not what I expected. It was always hard for me to roll a circle with dough, but the filling seemed a bit dry and lots of it fell off the dough, even tho I followed exactly as written. They do look a lot harder to make, than they really are, but my expectations were higher. Sorry that I couldn't give it a higher rating, but they still are a worthy cookie to make and serve to company. I will try them again, and try and figure some way to moisten the filling so that it doesn't fall off. I also think (not sure) that my old recipe called for cream cheese in the dough, which may be the reason why it tasted different from what I expected. Thank you, Karen, for sharing this recipe. ADDED NOTE: I was informed by Karen that the reason that some of the filling fell out, was because I did not press it into the dough; something that I will do next time, after librally brushing it with the egg white glaze. Also, I regretfully neglected to add the cream cheese (major oversight). I somehow missed that important ingredient, and therefore, the rating. As soon as I bake these again, I will re-rate this recipe, and make the proper adjustment. My apologies to Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I made two batches of these for a cookie exchange it made over 9 dozen mini schnecken. Plus, how awesome is Schnecken to say? :) They are very good and pretty darn easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      These were awesome! They didn't take all that long and very easy to make. Taste delicious! Simple yet elegant. What a treat!! This recipe a keeper. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      I screwed up my first batch of the butterhorns. I cut the dough (the already divided into 1/4 dough)into 4 quarters with a pizza cutter. Then I just rolled the big trianglar pieces and tried to make 4 big pieces of butterhorns. The result is surprisingly Good! I think the outside of the butterhorn was only half way done (but I guess since I used jam instead of egg white, it is okay that it is not fully cooked)I told my husband," it is not quite done yet and it tastes like apple pie". My husband tried and he said, "it tastes much better than an apple pie, it is delicious!". Thanks Karen for the great recipe. How do you pronounce this in Hungarian?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      My son dropped by when we were eating dinner and I told him he could try one. He kept eating them and wanted some to take home. My son is not a complimenter and he told me 3 times the Rugelach were very good. Very easy recipe. Next time, I'm trying the jam suggestion - good idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Oh, these are the neatest little cookies! I love the shape--they look like they are much harder to make than they are. And they taste divine! I filled mine with chopped walnuts, and, oh! they're nutty heaven! I made most of them for my grandpa, and he LOVED them. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      I made these cookies for a party last weekend and they were a huge hit! The recipe is extremely easy to follow and the dough rolls out beautifully. Thanks so much for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      These have been my husband's favorite Christmas cookies so far this year and rank really highly on my list as well. They went over really well at my Christmas party at work too. They were delicious and reasonably easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

    • on December 23, 2004

      Yum Yum Yum!! I made some of these this afternoon....they're almost all gone! My DH has been eating them up...as have I! Thankfully I have some more dough in the fridge, will make some more in the morning. They are a little bit of work, but well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      I used jam inplace of egg white, (apricot,raspberry or orange), I also added chopped dried fruit to the filling (plum, cherry or cranberry). I made this last Christmas and will make again this year, LOVE, LOVE them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2003

      Up-scale pastry shop recipe. Just made it and was very satisfied. Although this was my first time baking something like this,(a couple of small errors) the next time I am sure it will be perfect. Easy, superior taste and texture. If you want to push the envelope; drizzle with honey after taking it out of the oven. Thanks for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butterhorns Aka Rugelach / Rugulach / Snails / Schnecken

    Serving Size: 1 (990 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.1
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    67%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 11.5 mg
    3%
    Sodium 38.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites