13 Reviews

Best bread recipe EVER. With this recipe, my husband thinks I'm an awesome breadmaster! Actually thanks to my breadmaker and this recipe, I feel like the bread master! The only changes that I did was used bread flour and skim milk. I forgot to brush the tops with butter but it doesn't need it. Try it if you want a tender, soft, buttery roll. I made hot dog buns with half of the dough and the other half is sitting in the freezer.. Don't know if I'll make rolls or cinnamon rolls next...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AkikoC December 21, 2010

I agree these need 10 stars, I made them for Thanksgiving and I was sooo happy !!!! Thank You so much for sharing...I appreciate it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
betsy222 November 25, 2010

These deserve 10 stars. Everyone loves them. I am constantly printing the recipe for people.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo@home March 18, 2010

These rolls are delicious and easy to make. My family has made them several times. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rochsann November 25, 2009

I actually made these at Easter but wanted to try then again as the first time mine also didnt rise like I thought they should. I just made them again this weekend and used 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 regular flour and it worked like a dream. These are very tender and slightly sweet and they freeze beautifully. Thanks for a great recipe Roxy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE May 30, 2006

With the bread machine, these tender rolls are so quick to put together. Perfect for holidays or weekday dinners. Dough is very easy to work with and the butterhorn rolls simple to shape. Great tip about the pizza cutter. Would be perfect for kids to make or help with. I've made these a couple of times now and everyone enjoys them. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Roxygirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama April 16, 2006

These rolls have a wonderful taste, its just they didn't rise for me as good as I thought they would. I don't know if it was my bread machine or if I done something wrong while putting the mix in the pan. My bread machine was making weird noises so I am thinking it didn't go thru the process good. I will be giving this recipe a try again. They are really tasty. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. March 16, 2006

These were FANTASTIC! I must admit that I made a few changes though. I added 2 tablespoons more milk. I originally started by using my machine recipe which called for 7/8 then I switched to this one. I also added less sugar, more like 1/4 for personal preference. Lastly, I used bread flour. I used olive oil for the oil bit. The dough came out perfect. Not too dry, not too wet.literally perfect. I added garlic to my butter topping and the kids gobbled them down. The were so fluffy and yummy. I just had to register to give this 5 stars. Best bread recipe I've tried to date.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kooponmama83 August 28, 2014

I had to sign up just to say thank you. I have been searching for this recipe and the cookbook from which it came for years! My sister gave me the book in 1995. I made these rolls all the time. She passed in 1997 and making these rolls reminded me of her! We had a house fire in 1999 and the book was lost to me! I could specifically remember the title or the recipe. Finally saw a pic of the book today by chance and knew it was it! Then searching I read your post about these rolls. After looking at the recipe I knew I had found it! I can't wait to make these for my family this Thanksgiving! Again, thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Mayer November 17, 2013

This recipe was a series of firsts for me: First Time using an Online Recipe, First Time using the dough cycle on my bread machine. It turned out exactly how it was described, and there were no surprises - except how good they were! All of the rolls disappeared in an hour - no leftovers for me!! I intend on using the dough again, this time for a stuffed crust pizza dough :) Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pookatron January 20, 2008
Butterhorn Bread Machine Rolls