Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttered Spinach and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttered Spinach and Rice

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2009

      Lovin it. Made it with chicken broth instead of water. I confess I just got got back from Puerto Rico so I am on a spicy rice kick so I added about 1t. cayenne pepper to the rice at salt and pepper time. Added some shrimp at the end and ate w/ hot sauce. Didn't need hot sauce but like I said I am on that kick. Thanks for this recipe. Love the spinach in it and will use this recipe often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      wonderful rice, I used chicken broth and increased the garlic, I also added in 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper for heat, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I first had this at my mom's house. This stuff is great! It's creamy and flavorful and simple to make. I plan on making it for my family often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This is a great recipe! It is great as a side dish, looks versatile if adding meats, seasonings, etc. I followed this to the letter, except I only had 8 ounces of fresh spinach, but that was enough to make it colorful and flavorful. I served it with tilapia and fresh fruit and it was a very nice meal. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Good recipe, but not one of my favorites. My family loves rice and we've tried a lot of different ways. Give it a try if you want a change from plain rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This was fantastic! It is on my menu for this week and I will be adding shrimp to make it a real main course. It was so moist and tasty, everyone loved it and not a bit left over. Thanks for a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except I only had a 12 oz package of frozen spinach so I used all of it. I chopped it up and mixed into the rice. My son garnished his portion with feta cheese. The rest of us had it plain. DELICIOUS! I would definitely make this again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Just a bit of extra work but tastes very good and different. It is worth making it over plain rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Don't pass this up! This is wonderful and so easy. I am making it two nights in a row:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Excellent taste! I chopped my frozen spinach before I placed it on top because my boys are particular about green things in their vegetables. They ate it! Thanks for a great recipe. Made for Star Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Really good and easy! Will be making again soon. Had to substitute green onions for the onion, but it turned out fantastic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Everyone liked this and I didn't even add spinach. I was going to, but when I opened the bag, I realizd it was a whole salad kit from Trader Joe's so we had the rice without it, and the spinach salad too :)! Oh- I used a half an onion and a large shallot instean of one onion because I had that already cut up. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I used 2 tomatoes, chicken stock. It's a very tasteful dish. Really good. Thanks Pattikay :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Very definitely a keeper. I used fresh spinach and chicken stock. The combination of spinach and rice was AWESOME. It was scarfed down pretty quickly by my family. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Very agreeable side dish. Spinach and rice is a familiar combination, but the tomato was an innovation for me and worked very well with the other ingredients. I used low-sodium beef bouillon for the stock and upped the garlic a bit. When I reheated the leftovers, I tried adding a bit of Italian herb seeasoning and that wsa quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      What a lovely side dish, this was the perfect thing tonight with the chicken. I had some doubts about the tomato in this but it worked very well. I even thought I might mix in some Parm at the end of cooking but decider to try that next time. Thank you Pattikay for something different and oh so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      This was a great side dish to go with a Stir-Fry, we really really enjoyed it. We love Garlic and this really hit the spot. I used Basmati rice and it came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttered Spinach and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.0
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    29%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 140.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes