12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

All I could find was fresh sugar snap peas so I used those and the frozen peas. Wanted to try the mint as I have it fresh at the moment but DH tossed a hissy fit and wanted to know what was wrong with "buttered peas period!". Loved the texture and the fresh pop. I'll me making these again very soon and putting in the mint and DH can have pancakes :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 26, 2012

I have made this for 4th time and finally remembered to review it....sorry. These are wonderful. Added a small can of sliced water chestnuts and this added a great crunch, was very popular at dinner last night. Thanks so much for this enjoyable recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol.fletcher December 28, 2014

I loved the two kinds of peas together. They really are scrumptious in the butter. I used the mint and it stood out in the dish and made a bold yet compelling flavor. It seems like an herb that could clash with other items on the plate if not paired properly. I would say try the mint if you are up for something interesting and new. If you want to play it safe with your other menu items I would use the chives. (Made for Name That Ingredient)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird July 11, 2013

I made this recipe for dinner Friday night, and all I can say is "Excellent"! I didn't change a thing, other than I used my compound butter (which has garlic, chive & scallion in it). This way of making peas looked so "Up-Scale"... I will serve them like this to any dinner guests from now on. I served these with a meatloaf and also To Die for Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes, and it made a truely delightful and pretty meal. I will be making these again. Thank you for posting this recipe. (Made for Name That Ingredient tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 July 07, 2013

These were good and a change from the usual plain peas. I used a mixture of frozen peas, and fresh snow peas and sugar snap peas (the snows peas at the store didn't look that good). I did cook them in the boiling water a little longer since we prefer more tender veggies. Topped with chives and DH ate 2 servings!! Made for Everyday Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH October 16, 2010

This is a gteat tasting and differenr way to serve peas.
Followed the recipe exactly using fresh chives as my prefered option, and the family loved it.
A great buttery taste and the peas are so so perfect.........
with just the right tenderness, cooked together this way!
5 star here....... Thanks Deb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme October 09, 2010

Really enjoyed this! I used frozen peas and fresh snow peas. Followed the recipe exactly. I added the chives, due to personal preference. Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 02, 2010

Good and easy to make. I followed the recipe used canned tiny peas and the chives. We all enjoyed these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 16, 2010

I did cut this easy-to-prepare recipe in half since there were just 2 of us, then used mint for my other half & chives for myself! Very, very nice way to spruce up peas, & I liked serving up snow peas with the small shelled ones! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 04, 2010

Well, we couldn't buy mint or chives, so I used parsley. I loved the crispness of the snow peas against the soft sweetness of the peas. This was such a quick side to put together, I'm sure we'll be making it again soon. I would love to make it with mint next time though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 25, 2010
Buttered Snow and Green Peas