Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttered Egg Noodles (Best Ever) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttered Egg Noodles (Best Ever)

    Average Rating:

    183 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 183

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2001

      My teenage kids loved it as well as my husband - the best. I increased the amount of water used and only used 1/2 stick of butter total. The sauce was still great. MMMM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      Very good, quick and easy to make. If I have fresh parsley on hand next time I think I may add just a touch of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2002

      Very good and quick to make. My family ate the whole bowl. Thanks for the easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2001

      Wonderful!!!!!!!!!1111

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Good noodles but I think that the directions are lacking a bit. Even as a pretty experienced cook I was ready to prepare these in a tall, burner sized, metal saucepan. Thank goodness I read some reviews first to realize that this needs to be made in a shallow, large bottomed pan such as a non-stick skillet (which is what I ended up using). The taste delivered what I expected but to take it up a notch I snipped fresh parsley and parmesan cheese over the top before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      I wont make plain old noodles any other way. I think it's important to let people know that the broth wont cover the noodles and that they need to stir frequently though. I didn't have a problem but some might.Family loved it, gives these a try

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      My family loves these noodles and they eat lots of noodles! I found that if I want to make a whole 12 oz. pkg it works great with 3 cups. of liquid. I make them in a big, wide pan so that there is lots of surface area. I used 2 cups of chicken stock, 1 cup water, 3 tsps. chicken granules, and 1/2 stick of butter. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      This was such a simple and easy recipe to make that I was surprised at how good the noodles tasted. Given that the recipe calls for 1/2 cup butter I was surprised that it wasn't greasy. Instead, they had the hint of chicken broth coupled with a creamy texture - yum is all I can say. My 5 yr old daughter told me that these were "really good noodles and that she might have 2nds." These will definitely be a staple at our dinner table in the future as my little one loves noodles and I make them often. I think I'm going to try to cut back a little on the butter to reduce the fat content a bit but not enough to sacrifice the creamy texture. Thanks for a really good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      I made the mistake of trying to use shells instead noodles,the result was the dish ran out of broth before the shells were done.But even though they were alittle crunchy(dummy me!)they had good flavor.I will definately make this again using the right ingredients next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I can't believe I never rated this, it's been a staple since I first tried it. I use a 16 oz bag of egg noodles, up the water to 3 1/2 cups, keep the butter at 1 stick, and I use 1 T chicken base rather than bullion cubes. After adding the noodles I cover the pot with a lid and reduce the heat to med-low. Everyone gobbles this up. Thanks for a great easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      It's a great side dish for most meals. I started off with 3 c. water, 4 bouillon cubes, and a 12 oz. pack of yolk-free egg noodles. I used all the butter as directed. I ended up at a bit more water as the noodles started to stick and another bouillon cube as well. I also sprinkled a liberal amount of basil and black pepper on when I was finished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      This was so easy and very tasty. I used 3 c chicken broth and ended up adding an extra cup of water at the end because the noodles weren't quite done and they were sticking to the bottom of the pan. I also used 12 oz whole wheat egg noodles. At the end, I turned the heat off, added some fresh grated Parmesan cheese, and put the lid on for a few minutes. The family devoured it. I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      These noodles were so easy to prepare and the taste was excellent! The only change I would make is to add 1/2 cup more water to boil the noodles in. I ran out of water before the noodles were tender. Great recipe, David! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      A very easy side dish. Made it with a Pot Roast (http://www.food.com/recipe/easy-crock-pot-roast-32215 ) and it was fantastic together! I used 3/4 of the butter the recipe calls for and a little olive oil. Added a tad of Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, and a little parm. Great, will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This is a perfect recipe! Delicious! I have used as little as 1-2 TBSP and have had good results, if you are concerned about fat or just don't want to use as much butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Easy and yummy! After reading reviews...I halved the butter. Used 3.5 cups water for whole bag of noodles. Added some garlic powder and parsley for a little umphh. I will be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Amazingly simple, incredibly tasty!! We enjoyed these wonderful noodles for supper tonight with roasted chicken sliced over top and fresh green beans from our garden, yummmmm. Based on other reviews I upped the liquid by about a 1/4 cup and that was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      My husband saw buttered noodles and immediately brought out the spaghetti sauce. I told him he better try it before he puts that all over. He ended up leaving the red sauce off. The kids ate all their noodles, too. They are really good. I ended up using spaghetti noodles and adding a little more water. They turned out great. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Made this as a side for Beef Patties in Onion Gravy. I used beef bouillon instead and it was an excellent match. I did make a note to use only half the butter called for as recommended by other reviewers but ended up using the 1/2 cup it called for. IMPORTAT NOTE: stir, stir, stir!!! It will look like there is not nearly enough water but the noodles will come out great as long as you stir CONSTANTLY. Thanks forthe recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      I love this dish! I just tried it for the first time and it's dynamite! I did use some of the suggestions though. With a full 16oz bag I used 2 cans of broth (low sodium, 14.5oz each) and 4oz water. 3/4 cup of butter, 1 teaspoon kosher salt. 1 teaspoon fresh black pepper, 1/4 fresh chopped parsley. I stirred often and left it covered until the last 2 minutes. It came out nice and tender with a good sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttered Egg Noodles (Best Ever)

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.8
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    54%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 108.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 380.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites