8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is AWESOME. It was my first time making it and it turned out awesome! :) I used lemon juice instead of vanilla extract and added a little powdered lemonade drink mix to make lemon flavored icing. It was delicious! Thanks for a great go to recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
498291 June 27, 2011

PERFECT! I halved the recipe and added a (cooled) shot of espresso to flavor it, and also added some cocoa powder - I'm not sure how much, because there was just a little left so I dumped it all in; probably about 2 T. I also added 2 T of powdered sugar at the end because it was looking a little runny. It turned out just as I hoped it would, light airy and tastes like coffee ice cream. I'm using it as a filling on a chocolate cinnamon cake and putting a chocolate glaze over the top. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tess10210 June 23, 2010

Easy to prepare and it tastes heavenly! I've made buttercream frosting using several different recipes. This is by far the best. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoxyBrown December 23, 2009

I'm not giving this any stars because I am sure the problem I had was my own fault... but hopefully I can save someone else from my mistake. Make sure to cook the milk/cornstarch mixture of low as the recipe states. I used medium without realizing and stepped away from the stove to check out what my dogs were barking about, seconds later I returned to the pan and it had started to congeal. I quickly continued mixing and I thought all was well. I put it in the fridge to speed cooling process (maybe this was another mistake). I went along with the recipe as stated and slowly added the now congealed paste to the whipped butter sugar. I could not get the cornstarch mxture to thoroughly incorporate. It looked like there were chunks of rice throughout. I also would use powdered sugar next time. I used regular granulated sugar and found that to cause a bit of grit to the texture as well. I'd be willing to try this recipe again- I'll just make sure to follow the directions precisely as I am sure the problems are no fault of the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog January 17, 2009

Excellent recipe! Easy to make and not gritty. I used superfine sugar (regular granulated sugar processed in cuisinart for 2 min) just to be sure it wasn't gritty. Used on an irish fruitcake and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Republican Hippie December 25, 2008

Very good frosting for the simplicity. I used EggNog subbed for the milk to make my cake a bit more holiday-ish... very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ebanroos November 20, 2008

It was a good frosting. I have made a better one. But interesting enough. I made it for one of my customers. If I get any complaints I will let you know. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of almond flavoring to wake it up. O.k. the verdict is in and they said that they loved the cake. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker June 10, 2007

I didn't have any pudding or cream cheese on hand and was looking for a frosting recipe that I could make with what I had... I chose this one because (save the butter) it reminded me of a "milk sauce" recipe my grandmother always used to make for our waffles. I love this frosting - the taste is reminiscent of whipped cream. I used unsalted butter and next time I might use just a touch less sugar only because I don't like my cream very sweet, but overall I am very pleased with this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jubes February 20, 2007
Buttercream Frosting