Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2011

      This is AWESOME. It was my first time making it and it turned out awesome! :) I used lemon juice instead of vanilla extract and added a little powdered lemonade drink mix to make lemon flavored icing. It was delicious! Thanks for a great go to recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      PERFECT! I halved the recipe and added a (cooled) shot of espresso to flavor it, and also added some cocoa powder - I'm not sure how much, because there was just a little left so I dumped it all in; probably about 2 T. I also added 2 T of powdered sugar at the end because it was looking a little runny. It turned out just as I hoped it would, light airy and tastes like coffee ice cream. I'm using it as a filling on a chocolate cinnamon cake and putting a chocolate glaze over the top. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Easy to prepare and it tastes heavenly! I've made buttercream frosting using several different recipes. This is by far the best. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I'm not giving this any stars because I am sure the problem I had was my own fault... but hopefully I can save someone else from my mistake. Make sure to cook the milk/cornstarch mixture of low as the recipe states. I used medium without realizing and stepped away from the stove to check out what my dogs were barking about, seconds later I returned to the pan and it had started to congeal. I quickly continued mixing and I thought all was well. I put it in the fridge to speed cooling process (maybe this was another mistake). I went along with the recipe as stated and slowly added the now congealed paste to the whipped butter sugar. I could not get the cornstarch mxture to thoroughly incorporate. It looked like there were chunks of rice throughout. I also would use powdered sugar next time. I used regular granulated sugar and found that to cause a bit of grit to the texture as well. I'd be willing to try this recipe again- I'll just make sure to follow the directions precisely as I am sure the problems are no fault of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Excellent recipe! Easy to make and not gritty. I used superfine sugar (regular granulated sugar processed in cuisinart for 2 min) just to be sure it wasn't gritty. Used on an irish fruitcake and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Very good frosting for the simplicity. I used EggNog subbed for the milk to make my cake a bit more holiday-ish... very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      It was a good frosting. I have made a better one. But interesting enough. I made it for one of my customers. If I get any complaints I will let you know. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of almond flavoring to wake it up. O.k. the verdict is in and they said that they loved the cake. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I didn't have any pudding or cream cheese on hand and was looking for a frosting recipe that I could make with what I had... I chose this one because (save the butter) it reminded me of a "milk sauce" recipe my grandmother always used to make for our waffles. I love this frosting - the taste is reminiscent of whipped cream. I used unsalted butter and next time I might use just a touch less sugar only because I don't like my cream very sweet, but overall I am very pleased with this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.4
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    64%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 65.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 218.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 25.0 g
    100%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites