10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this simple, easy recipe. I cooked it about 5 minutes after removing the lid. I used too much water so it didn't evaporate (I always have trouble judging how much to put in the pan) so I just removed the florets with a slotted spoon. I have broccoli all the time and this recipe is a welcome addition to my recipe file!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa March 30, 2012

The soy and butter are subtle in this, but nice. I added very little water so when I took the lid off at 3 minutes the liquid was all evaporated - unfortunately the broccoli was also already overcooked by then. Maybe doing 1 minute covered and 1 minute uncovered would be just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 04, 2013

This was a good basic recipe. We eat a lot of broccoli and this made for a nice change. I followed the recipe as written other then I used I can't believe it's not butter as that is all I buy. We all enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 27, 2013

Very simple recipe that tastes great. Makes a great side for chicken and mashed potatoes. Made for Best of 2012 game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey February 23, 2013

Easy and tasty way to prepare broccoli! I used lite soy sauce and it added a nice flavor - only had to add a bit of pepper after cooking. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2012 event, recommended by linguinelisa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 22, 2013

Have to tell you a story, DH asked what was for dinner & when I told him broccoli he balked & said yuk. Well, I made your recipe & he was begging for mine- loved it! So finally, I can fix broccoli without complaints from him. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SB6 March 13, 2010

We liked this method for broccoli. Normally I roast it in the oven but this was very good for a different change of pace. Made for I Recommend Tag Game 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 19, 2010

It can't get any more simple than this recipe! A great and delicious way to prepare a veggie side dish. Served with grilled chicken and rice. My kids liked putting the broccoli on the rice and mixing it up! Thanks for a great dish! Made for your Football Pool win! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom December 26, 2009

A deliciously simple way to cook vegetables. Thanks for posting. Made for Football Pool week 13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl December 14, 2009

How simple is this!! And good too! Thanks Brookelynne for a new keeper. Congrats again on your Football win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 20, 2009
Butter Steamed Broccoli