Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butter Rum Acorn Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butter Rum Acorn Squash

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2002

      We ate this until we bursting, then when I was cleaning the table, I took a couple more bites!! It is an excellent acorn squash recipe. I added just a dash of dried cloves to the spice mix. I baked this covered until the final 15 minutes, then I uncovered it and let it crisp up a little. I recommend this recipe to all who love squash, I will also try it with butternut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      I've finally found a squash recipe that my kids will eat! All the flavors compliment each other very well in this recipe. I used a different type of winter squash (not sure of the name of it...it came from our CSA) rather than acorn squash. Like some of the other reviewers, I left it uncovered for the last 15 minutes. Additionally, I tossed on a handful of unsalted walnuts for those last 15 minutes. That was just enough time for them to toast in the oven and to get slightly glazed with the sugar mixture - yum! Thanks, Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Another delicious squash recipe - the spice mix was perfect with the rum & butter! Other than using light amber rum & leaving uncovered in the last 15 minutes, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanx Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      Great recipe. This was my first try at acorn squash and it was just as good as I had imagined it would be. I didn't have any dark rum, so I just used what I had. It did just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      We really enjoyed this as a side to our Mock Chicken Legs tonight. My only diversion from the recipe as written: I used Captain Morgan Spiced Rum, covered baking dish for 20 minutes, then uncovered for the remainder of the time. Turned out perfect. Thanks Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      this recipe was just super tasty. It looked so pretty in the dish. i ended up peeling off the skin and then mashing it all up.. yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      My rum loving husband will love you forever. Also, squash is one of his favorite vegetables. Perfert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Simple and a keeper. Like she said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Delicious! I used this as one of my Christmas dinner contributions this year and it rec'd rave reviews. I made a double recipe (we had eight adults and five kids) and it was just right. Instead of slicing the squash into rings I cut the squash in half, scooped out the seeds, and baked face down in a half-inch of water in the oven (about 40 min @ 325F, I think). When they were cooked I scooped the squash out of the shells, mashed it in a casserole dish, then mixed in the butter, rum, and suger+spices. My son loved it too... apparently the way to get your kids to eat veggies is to load it with rum. lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      I loved this. The spice combination was perfect for acorn squash. I didn't have dark rum so used a little cognac instead. We loved it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butter Rum Acorn Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.0
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    35%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 47.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites