10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We ate this until we bursting, then when I was cleaning the table, I took a couple more bites!! It is an excellent acorn squash recipe. I added just a dash of dried cloves to the spice mix. I baked this covered until the final 15 minutes, then I uncovered it and let it crisp up a little. I recommend this recipe to all who love squash, I will also try it with butternut.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz May 02, 2002

I've finally found a squash recipe that my kids will eat! All the flavors compliment each other very well in this recipe. I used a different type of winter squash (not sure of the name of it...it came from our CSA) rather than acorn squash. Like some of the other reviewers, I left it uncovered for the last 15 minutes. Additionally, I tossed on a handful of unsalted walnuts for those last 15 minutes. That was just enough time for them to toast in the oven and to get slightly glazed with the sugar mixture - yum! Thanks, Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoe January 25, 2004

Another delicious squash recipe - the spice mix was perfect with the rum & butter! Other than using light amber rum & leaving uncovered in the last 15 minutes, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanx Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady January 13, 2004

Great recipe. This was my first try at acorn squash and it was just as good as I had imagined it would be. I didn't have any dark rum, so I just used what I had. It did just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen January 08, 2004

We really enjoyed this as a side to our Mock Chicken Legs tonight. My only diversion from the recipe as written: I used Captain Morgan Spiced Rum, covered baking dish for 20 minutes, then uncovered for the remainder of the time. Turned out perfect. Thanks Bev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour October 25, 2009

this recipe was just super tasty. It looked so pretty in the dish. i ended up peeling off the skin and then mashing it all up.. yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondeChick80 October 06, 2009

My rum loving husband will love you forever. Also, squash is one of his favorite vegetables. Perfert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 May 30, 2008

Simple and a keeper. Like she said.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the Guppy Gourmet January 05, 2008

Delicious! I used this as one of my Christmas dinner contributions this year and it rec'd rave reviews. I made a double recipe (we had eight adults and five kids) and it was just right. Instead of slicing the squash into rings I cut the squash in half, scooped out the seeds, and baked face down in a half-inch of water in the oven (about 40 min @ 325F, I think). When they were cooked I scooped the squash out of the shells, mashed it in a casserole dish, then mixed in the butter, rum, and suger+spices. My son loved it too... apparently the way to get your kids to eat veggies is to load it with rum. lol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L00k December 27, 2007

I loved this. The spice combination was perfect for acorn squash. I didn't have dark rum so used a little cognac instead. We loved it. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 19, 2006
Butter Rum Acorn Squash