65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy & tasty. I roasted the carrots with some potatoes. While they didn't look real pretty (they got pretty shriveled), they tasted great. I added a little salt and garlic to the mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. March 06, 2014

Not sure where I went wrong here but my carrots did not caramelize or have a roasted flavor. I followed all the directions, but they definitely did not cook all the way through. I had to cook them longer just to get them crisp-tender and they tasted like regular steamed carrots. However....I am going to try this again, possibly without covering. I don't want to drag the rating down on a recipe that is obviously beloved by so many other cooks. I am giving this a 4 star rating because it is a very easy side when you have other parts of the meal that require more time/energy. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs November 26, 2013

I am not a fan of cooked carrots and have tried to like them many different ways. These carrots are simple and delicious! I added some salt at the end, as I add salt to everything. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mscally4 July 31, 2013

Yum, who doesn't love butter roasted carrots? I loved these incredible, tasty, carrots SO much! Followed exactly, but only used a quarter pound of carrots, so I only let roast for 30 minutes. It was just perfect in everyway. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 04, 2012

I really liked it. It's a perfect side dish that you throw in the oven while you get the rest of the meal ready. No hustle yet great flavor. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp July 19, 2011

This was a nice easy recipe. I only kept my carrots in for 40 minutes since we like them to be a bit crunchy. These weren't, like, some new extremely flavorful way to make carrots but they were easy, tasty and a nice change from the same old glazed carrots. We'll definitely be making these again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith March 26, 2011

These were easy and turned out really well. I only had 1 lb. of carrots left, but the cooking time was still perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch October 24, 2010

These had a good flavor, but they did not turn out as soft as we like them to be. They also did not carmelize as I was hoping they would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 March 05, 2010

Did I do something wrong?? These just didn't do it for me. I followed the recipe exactly but the results weren't only so-so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka January 04, 2010

Not wanting our carrots taste steamed, I cooked them for the first twenty minutes without any lid. During the last forty minutes, I added a loosly fitting piece of aluminum foil that would let steam out. I did stir the carrots as mentioned. They turned out to be delicious! We'll be cooking carrots this way again often! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself November 10, 2009
Butter Roasted Carrots