Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butter Mochi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butter Mochi

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2013

      This is an excellent butter mochi. It has the right amount of sweetness, and the crystallized crust which forms on the top and sides of the pan are total bonus points. The recipe makes a 9x13 pan, which serves, um, what, two? Okay, if you gotta share it can serve more folks, but they should make their own. Really.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      For fun I almost completely veganized this recipe and it came out SO well. My husband couldn't tell the difference. I used Earth Balance butter, ground flax seeds instead of eggs, lite coconut milk, and 1 cup sugar 3/4 cup agave syrup instead of the 2 cups of sugar. I did use the evaporated milk because I didn't find a vegan replacement, though.

      Will absolutely make this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 Pyrex pan. I used 2 eggs (1.5 eggs is just too bothersome) and 3/4 cup of sugar (already plenty sweet, no need for more). I stuck with the recipe otherwise. The taste was very good. However, it was more fluffy and less chewy than I would like (not sure how to fix this, may be less baking powder or beat the batter more?). The coconut flavor really came out (so don't use coconut milk if you don't want the coconut flavor). For me, the best part is the crispy surface so next time I might bake in a larger dish to get thinner pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I made this tonight (and posted a picture) and it is DELICIOUS!!! I made the recipe exactly as is with 2 cups of sugar, cinnamon and unsalted sweet cream butter. I couldn't stand to wait for it to cool completely and cut into it after 45 minutes and it was melt-in-your-mouth ooey sticky goodness! I can't wait to make it again for the next island friends BBQs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This was the easiest recipe and it is soooo yummy! Reminds me of when I was a kid in Hawaii! Thanks for sharing. Note: I only used 2 cups of sugar and it still turned out sweet, so if you are wondering if you can use less sugar, the answer is yes and it didn't change the consistency either! Try it, and you will love it....my kids did too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Simply perfect!! just like the Butter mochi I use to buy when I lived in Hawaii!!! The kids loved it so much that they insisted on taking some to their teachers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      i love how simple the desert is to make! it's the perfect desert for 6 kids and all of their friends.Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Love this recipe! It was my first time making it and I halved the recipe. I also did not have coconut milk so I used a whole can of fat free evaporated milk instead of 1/2 can coconut milk and 1/2 can ev. milk. The crust is so crispy! I love the taste too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I followed the recipe as-is with the cinnamon and all, and it is DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      This is SOOO good!! I've never had butter mochi before, but I love mochi so I figured I'd love this. I halved the sugar and it was just right for me since I also dusted it with powdered sugar. I also omitted the cinnamon.I will definitly make this again and again. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I was craving butter mochi ever since I moved from Hawaii and this was perfect! I didnt add the cinnamon because Im used to it plain but it was great. My husband thought it great to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      I enjoyed this both warm and cooled. My boyfriend thought it tasted too sweet when warm, and there is a lot of sugar in the recipe-probably more than necessary. It doesn't have to be completely cooled before cutting, and in fact it's excellent warm with some fresh ripe mango.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butter Mochi

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.7
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    29%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 28.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 70.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    76%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites