33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A nice buttercream frosting. I used the salt to cut the sweetness and let it sit at room temperature for 1/2 hour to eliminate the slight graininess in texture. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom October 12, 2010

I made this yesterday for my son's 4th birthday and it was great! Only giving it 4 starts because It retains a minor grainy texture from the powdered sugar, which only I noticed. It was very sweet, but that helped the cake because I had a tart raspberry filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CryPixie83 September 12, 2010

Made exact. It turned out great! So yummy worked well on sugar cookies and cupcakes. Will use it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scarlet86 June 19, 2010

My family loves this buttercream icing and I find it very easy to work with. My mom is a chocoholic and so I make this chocolate by melting down semi-sweet chocolate chips and then mixing them in when they've cooled to room temp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarabbismama June 01, 2009

Really simple, good, icing recipe. I added kaluah and a bit of coco for a very nice mocha icing. Turned out nice and fluffy with the help of my kitchen aid.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook-e-monster January 24, 2008

Great flavor. Nice soft, silky texture. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat February 09, 2014

I used this for decorating my good friend's birthday cake this weekend, and it was just perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan November 18, 2012

Yum! I thought it was perfect just as written. I used all 3 tbs of milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Oliver April 08, 2012

Absolutely delicious frosting! I used it for chocolate cupcakes and every morsel of it was gobbled up...even the extra. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer March 19, 2012

Tasty, but grainy. Also a bit more translucent than I liked, but less milk would have meant that it wasn't quite spreadable. It is a LOT of sugar. I used it all because I needed to frost a layered cake inside and out, but if I was only frosting one cake, I would probably have used about 3 cups of powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel December 22, 2011
Butter Cream Icing (Buttercream Frosting)