Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butter Cream Icing (Buttercream Frosting) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butter Cream Icing (Buttercream Frosting)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2010

      A nice buttercream frosting. I used the salt to cut the sweetness and let it sit at room temperature for 1/2 hour to eliminate the slight graininess in texture. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      I made this yesterday for my son's 4th birthday and it was great! Only giving it 4 starts because It retains a minor grainy texture from the powdered sugar, which only I noticed. It was very sweet, but that helped the cake because I had a tart raspberry filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Made exact. It turned out great! So yummy worked well on sugar cookies and cupcakes. Will use it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      My family loves this buttercream icing and I find it very easy to work with. My mom is a chocoholic and so I make this chocolate by melting down semi-sweet chocolate chips and then mixing them in when they've cooled to room temp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Really simple, good, icing recipe. I added kaluah and a bit of coco for a very nice mocha icing. Turned out nice and fluffy with the help of my kitchen aid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      Great flavor. Nice soft, silky texture. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      I used this for decorating my good friend's birthday cake this weekend, and it was just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Yum! I thought it was perfect just as written. I used all 3 tbs of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Absolutely delicious frosting! I used it for chocolate cupcakes and every morsel of it was gobbled up...even the extra. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Tasty, but grainy. Also a bit more translucent than I liked, but less milk would have meant that it wasn't quite spreadable. It is a LOT of sugar. I used it all because I needed to frost a layered cake inside and out, but if I was only frosting one cake, I would probably have used about 3 cups of powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Very good butter cream frosting recipe. I used mine to decorate a chocolate chip cookie pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Good flavor. Thought the butter proportion was good, but overall too runny, sweet and, like another reviewer, grainy. Made this to top recipe 2496, would add much less sugar & milk (to taste) next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      A bit too sweet and buttery tasting for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

    • on March 20, 2010

      great recipe thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Very nice icing and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Perfect! I used on Simply Sinful Cinnamon Rolls and it worked great thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

    • on August 11, 2009

      Was really easy and tastes great.First time I made frosting from scratch... I usually use a can!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I can't believe that I haven't reviewed this yummy frosting. It is so creamy and tasty. It is the best Butter Frosting that I have had and I use it all the time. Thanks Marg for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butter Cream Icing (Buttercream Frosting)

    Serving Size: 1 (863 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1142.6
     
    Calories from Fat 476
    41%
    Total Fat 52.9 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 33.5 g
    167%
    Cholesterol 140.6 mg
    46%
    Sodium 470.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 171.7 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 167.9 g
    671%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites