139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was amazing and tasted even better than the Butter Chicken we get at our favorite Indian restaurant. I just made a few minor adjustments. I omitted the onion as my husband is not a fan. I used 1/2tsp of cayenne powder instead of chili powder, and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon instead of a full teaspoon, both of which were suggested in other reviews. I also added two tablespoons of tomato paste instead of one, because I found I needed to cut the spice once everything was added in. It really did the trick. Also, I added the dash of garam masala while the dish was cooking, instead of before plating. It was incredible and I will make it exactly this way in the future. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monkey28 August 24, 2009

this recipe was EXCELLENT!!! we served it with brown rice and green beans, a great complete meal! we don't have turmeric so we used hot curry instead and it was delicious- it gave it the perfect amount of heat! (we have made it before with regular curry and it was also very very good, but we like things spicy so we went with hot curry this time) thanks for sharing this excellent, affordable and easy to make recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gracegrace August 17, 2009

I tasted sauce while simmering & didn't like it at all, so I did as others & added some cayenne & also added another TBSP of tomato paste. We very much liked the end result. I think I will cut the cinnamon in half next time, as it was overbearing to me. Used half & half instead of cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty G July 12, 2009

I'm sad to say I didn't enjoy this at all. Reading through the recipe, I was concerned that it would be too sweet. It was pretty sweet, but mostly, I just felt it was really bland. I was surprised, since it has so much spice in it. I think if I tried this again, I'd add more garam masala and garlic, half the ginger, and leave the cinnamon out entirely. Possibly more tomato paste as well. Sorry for the bad review. :( I'm a HUGE fan of Indian food, too, so I was hoping it was yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Tomato June 28, 2009

This is the best! My Mom and I have been enjoying Butter Chicken from a local Indian restaurant for several months. I searched and found numerous recipes. I can't tell you how glad I am to have used yours! My Mom kept repeating..."this is better than the restaurant!" And I have to agree. I'll be making this often! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef FaceDoctor June 05, 2009

We loved this over jasmine rice with naan. Yumm! I used fat free half & half & a sprinkle of cheyenne for kick. Thanks, Tansy, for making me look like a cooking star!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RN~in~'11 May 26, 2009

Tasted like a spiced stroganoff! Was really disapointed after all the reviews. Added extra spices, cream and brown sugar - massive improvement! But sorry, if you love authentic Indian - leave this one alone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aussie yummy mummy May 26, 2009

Love this! I prefer this to the Butter Chicken from either of my local indian places. I have a little less chilli powder in mine as I don't like 'heat' as much as flavour. We make this at least every twp weeks. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evalina May 09, 2009

Maybe this just wasn't our thing, but my husband thought it too sweet and I thought it too salty. While we didn't like the flavors, I have to say that I do love the way the sauce came together and it was an easy recipe to follow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy May 07, 2009

I've tried a couple of jar/package seasoning versions of butter chicken and they pale in comparison to the flavors of this delicious version. The recipe is nice and straightforward and requires little effort, considering the multi-dimensional taste. I did not have all the ingredients on hand, so had to improvise a few things. For instance, I did not have ginger spice, so I incorporated fresh ginger; also did not have chili powder, but used Indian hot pepper sauce; and did not have garam masala, so I mixed up my own version using what spices I had on hand. The result was nevertheless fantastic. Hence, my advice is, don't shy away from this recipe if you don't have the exact ingredients on hand, you can still have great results if you improvise wisely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FeedNeed April 08, 2009
Butter Chicken