23 Reviews

Thanks for the recipe, Lainey. I gave 3 stars in December 2012 and I have now decided it must have been MY error, because I made your recipe this year and they came out perfectly! I will give some advice for others who had trouble with cookies spreading: Don't let your butter get too soft. It should still be a bit cool. Also, refrigerate the dough for a bit before rolling into balls. To prevent them from falling apart when finished, I set the hot cookie sheet on a wire baking rack for a few minutes, then place the butterballs in a tin of powdered sugar and put the tin IMMEDIATELY into the freezer. After a few hours I shake the tin to cover the cookies with powdered sugar and NONE fall apart. I store these in the freezer anyway, so it works. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adria82 January 04, 2014

Yummy and delicious! Love these cookies! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 30, 2011

I halved the recipe and got 49 cookies. I added a large pinch of salt to the ingredients but otherwise followed the directions exactly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon December 17, 2011

Wonderful cookies; this one's a keeper! The recipe was easily halved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply February 01, 2009

Followed (half) the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. Everyone loved them at work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellyhp12 December 18, 2008

Mine didn't spread too much, and I was very glad. I used finely ground pecans that I bought pre-ground at the store. I think this would be pretty good with almonds as well. I think my oven was hot because mine were done at about 35 minutes. Very tasty. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 11, 2008

Yes, I agree...your version is the best! I try a new one each Christmas hoping to find one that compares to a recipe I made years ago and lost. Yours is the closest; actually even better. Yield and time were spot on and the results were delicious. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= December 08, 2008

I'd like to give a 4 1/2, but it's not allowed on Zaar. My cookies didn't turn out into balls...they spread out on the cookie sheet, but they were very good. I followed the recipe exactly, using pecans ground very fine in the food processor. Even so, they had a tendency to break up, even after cooling. But the taste is yummy...a cross between a shortbread and a pecan sandy and an italian wedding cookie. Not too sweet, just a hint of sweetness. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 05, 2008

delicious tender cookies that are quite similar to shortbread, the only change I would make next time is increase the sugar, my family would have prefered it more sweeter, however still delicious, thanks for sharing hon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 01, 2008
Butter Balls