Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Butter Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Butter Balls

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2014

      Thanks for the recipe, Lainey. I gave 3 stars in December 2012 and I have now decided it must have been MY error, because I made your recipe this year and they came out perfectly! I will give some advice for others who had trouble with cookies spreading: Don't let your butter get too soft. It should still be a bit cool. Also, refrigerate the dough for a bit before rolling into balls. To prevent them from falling apart when finished, I set the hot cookie sheet on a wire baking rack for a few minutes, then place the butterballs in a tin of powdered sugar and put the tin IMMEDIATELY into the freezer. After a few hours I shake the tin to cover the cookies with powdered sugar and NONE fall apart. I store these in the freezer anyway, so it works. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Yummy and delicious! Love these cookies! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      I halved the recipe and got 49 cookies. I added a large pinch of salt to the ingredients but otherwise followed the directions exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Wonderful cookies; this one's a keeper! The recipe was easily halved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Followed (half) the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. Everyone loved them at work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

    • on December 11, 2008

      Mine didn't spread too much, and I was very glad. I used finely ground pecans that I bought pre-ground at the store. I think this would be pretty good with almonds as well. I think my oven was hot because mine were done at about 35 minutes. Very tasty. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Yes, I agree...your version is the best! I try a new one each Christmas hoping to find one that compares to a recipe I made years ago and lost. Yours is the closest; actually even better. Yield and time were spot on and the results were delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I'd like to give a 4 1/2, but it's not allowed on Zaar. My cookies didn't turn out into balls...they spread out on the cookie sheet, but they were very good. I followed the recipe exactly, using pecans ground very fine in the food processor. Even so, they had a tendency to break up, even after cooling. But the taste is yummy...a cross between a shortbread and a pecan sandy and an italian wedding cookie. Not too sweet, just a hint of sweetness. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      delicious tender cookies that are quite similar to shortbread, the only change I would make next time is increase the sugar, my family would have prefered it more sweeter, however still delicious, thanks for sharing hon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      These are SO GOOD!! I added a little more almond extract than is called for because I didn't add nuts (DD doesn't eat). I love the way they just seem to melt in your mouth- YUMMY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This recipe made it into Book #179627 We made these with pecans. We took your description advice and ground the nuts very fine. They were fantastic. Thanks for sharing Lainey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This recipe is a keeper!!! I used your recipe in place of the one I usually use, and I liked these better. I especially like that they bake at a lower temp, because I always had a problem with the bottoms getting too dark before the cookies were done with my old recipe. I didn't roll the balls in the sugar, but used a sifter to sprinkle them instead. Which makes them look prettier. I added them to the christmas tray. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I really loved these. My mom had a different recipe she made every year at Christmas. I loved hers too, but they had an after taste I wasn't crazy about. I was looking for a new recipe when I found this one. It is delicious and so easy! I am replacing my mother recipe with yours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Amazing! They were so different than usual cookies, I've had manyrequests for them. I used ground pecans as you said I could and they were just lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      These have replaced my families traditional Russian teacake recipe. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      These cookies really do melt in your mouth. Made these for a wedding and are freezing most of them until that time. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      These are truly "melt in your mouth" tender. I froze the extra from Christmas and they are just as good six weeks later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      These were really good! Very light texture and not overly sweet. They do take a little longer than the listed time especially if you roll them in sugar 2x, but there are 100 cookies after all! Thank you Lainey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Very nice, easy, melt in your mouth, buttery, walnutty cookie. I made 1/4 recipe which made 20 balls. I ground my walnuts in my blender. I did double the sugar...since I like goodies sweet. Thank you for the recipe. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Butter Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (1576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.7
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    70%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 9.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 32.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes