9 Reviews

The first time I [barely] remember having these was on a teeny little island off the southeast coast of Puerto Rico called Culebra, where my boyfriend and I were the only people camping on Playa Flamenco in March, because the locals thought it was "cold". This drink is seriously the most lusciously perfect Caribbean-style way to get over your sunburn and get drunk. They're just delicious and it's no joke when people say to be careful - you would think this is just an innocent milkshake with no ulterior motives, but have a few and you will be knocked on your a$$ before you know it, trust me! When we got home, and I started to scour the internet for the recipe, I kept finding all these fruity so-called "Bushwhacker" concoctions from Florida bartender. Fruit??? Um, not in my bushwhacker! Anyway, I eventually figured it out (and it happens to be this exact same recipe!) and have them fairly regularly at home now. I tried to convince my favorite bar to do them as a special, but they wouldn't, because there is a policy against having more than 4 types of booze in any one drink. Lightweights! :-P Thankfully the Caribbean has no such concerns. Next I'm going to try to convince my local coffee folks to make a non-alcoholic iced coffee version with all those Torani syrups. I know, not as fun, but a better choice for a summer commute. Salud!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin M. June 04, 2015

Oh and I meant to put 5 stars. =] Delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eskimo1105 February 07, 2011

Dude I am soo happy that you posted this drink. We went to the Virgin Islands last year and I was hooked on this drink. I was soo sad when I came home and no one knew how to make it. YOU ROCK!! THis is the best drink ever!! I just wish that the liquor was as cheap here as it is there!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacilyn01 July 18, 2008

We just returned from a cruise of the Southern Carribean and stopped by a tiny corner bar and had one of these and absolutely loved them - thanks Shawn! He also said "skip the vodka - rum, rum and more rum!". He also swirled chocolate syrup in the cup before filling with the cocktail! Yummy! As the Happy Buzzard says - A Day Without a Buzz is a Day That Never Wuzz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethR December 26, 2007

This is my first review.We had this (or something very similar)when we cruised to Roatan. We got lost and decided to try a local bar. The bartender suggested these..........OH MY ARE THESE AWESOME. As a matter of fact, 4 later we tried to get on the wrong cruiseship. Oops!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna's Mom July 25, 2006

Hey there! Thanks for posting this. This has been our favorite cocktail since our honeymoon 10 years ago in St. Thomas. At the time, I conned one of the bartenders into sharing the recipe and when I logged on to post it just now... here it is! His did not include the chocolate liquor, but otherwise the one we make is identical. These are the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyGolightly July 07, 2006

THANK YOU! I just got back from St. Thomas three weeks ago and was hooked on this drink when we visited Magan's Bay. Looooove this drink!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxsNation #33fan April 08, 2006

just got back from st. thomas, and yes, i drank these everywhere, but the best one i had used light and dark rum, no vodka, so that's what i used. this is a killer cocktail!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia February 05, 2005

What a GREAT drink! I already had all the ingredients except the Creme de Coconut soooo off to the store I went. My husband drinks Cruzan brand rum also (how easy is this?) I didn't have the chococo chocolate liquer so I used Godiva chocolate liquer. This drink really does taste so innocent but packs a wallop!!! I got bushwacked! Thanks for sharing this great drink, Mark Fredericks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot June 07, 2004
Bushwacker