27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were the best burgers bar none that I have ever had. They were thick, juicy and incredibly flavourful. I particularly like the addition of the liquid smoke. I had no trouble envisioning these cooked over the glowing embers a good hardwood fire rather than the urban electric BBQ that lives on my balcony. I appreciated your handling instructions as well, definitely a bonus in producing the look of the ultimate burger. I topped them with caramelized onions and nested them on home made buns...fantastic! Thank you Charlene.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myrna in London July 07, 2002

Wonderful tasting burgers. I particularly like the addition of the Liquid Smoke which I believe puts these burgers over the top. They are juicy and full-flavored. All your hard work for the "perfect" burger paid off. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. :-)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot August 14, 2002

Great burgers, but were very sloppy on the grill. Even after we brushed the grill with oil, they still stuck and a couple were falling apart. The taste made up for it though! Very good!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick October 24, 2002

These are absolutely excellent!!!. Juicy and flavorful. I am going to deep six my other burger recipes. These are the best. Thank you housemanager.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blakesle August 21, 2002

These were the BEST burgers we have ever had! My family went nuts over them last night when I grilled them AND they had the leftovers for BREAKFAST this morning...yes, BREAKFAST! The only thing I changed was I had 2.7 lbs. of ground beef, so I used it all and I had no liquid smoke, so I used Smoky BBQ sauce (I got 12 burgers out of it). I have to admit, they are a bit hard to handle. Even with the extra meat, they were very wet. I am sure the freezing helps, but my meat was already frozen and defrosted, so I could not freeze them again. I did chill them before taking them out to the grill, but a couple still fell apart a little. I would suggest to anyone to make these from fresh ground beef and then freeze as the recipe directs. That said, I still think these were AWESOME. My family could not believe they did not need any condiments! Thanks for the recipe...I will never make them any other way OR buy the frozen ones preformed at the store.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= March 17, 2003

Best burgers ever!! The liquid smoke gives an outdoor party flavor even when you broil them like I did! I left them in the freezer for an hour and had no problem with them staying together. We topped them with slices of onion and tomato. Great!! Thanks Charlene!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz January 19, 2003

Very juice and tasty...alot of flavor. I will make these again! Thanks for sharing...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahMarie April 21, 2003

Charlene, dear lady, you have one excellent burger recipe. Your instructions were very specific and easy to follow. The burgers were so juicy and had an incredible flavor. Deserving of my highest praise and at least 10 stars. Huge thank-you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 24, 2003

Flavorful burgers...love the liquid smoke. However, I can't seem to agree with the freezing technique because 1) they still fell apart after storing them for 3 hrs in the freezer and 2) meat sears/grills better when it's close to room temperature. UPDATE: Made these a second time. Since the flavors work well together, I added bread crumbs to the mixture instead of eliminating any ingredients. The burgers stayed intact and didn't need freezing. Still came out tasty. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elli2cook June 22, 2007

I guess everyone has their own tastes about things. While it was okay, the array of condiments blended into the meat do give it a different flavor. (It was sorta like a meatloaf, but with a something little extra) It just wasn't a flavor I like for a burger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow April 16, 2004
Bushka Burgers