8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These tasted wonderful. I made them with 1 cup white spelt flour & 2/3 cup wholemeal spelt flour. I used strawberry jam instead of raspberry & fresh strawberries. I should have cooked them just a few minutes longer, but they were nice & gooey in the middle. Very easy to make & enjoyed by all. Thanks for sharing this keeper. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl July 11, 2008

wow, these are good. i made them for breakfast...with a few changes. i didnt really have chocolate chips because *SOMEBODY* ate all but two and left the bag in the fridge. so i used strawberries and also blueberries. I used strawberry preserves instead, cut back on the honey and used wholewheat flour. i made some muffins without the surprise in the middle, but the ones with it were much better! zwt4 zingo

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 July 08, 2008

*Reviewed for ZWT4 Family Picks* Delicious! I made these gluten-free and they turned out wonderfully. I used a gluten-free flour blend and baking powder along with 1 teaspoon of xanthan gum. The mixture was a little too thick so I added maybe another 1/4 cup of milk. I used fresh strawberries and dutch cocoa powder. I loved these muffins. My husband didn't even realise that I had made them gluten-free until he noticed that I was enjoying one too. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks LUv 2 Bake- these were great. Photo also being posted :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** July 07, 2008

I love these muffins. The only slight change I made was to use frozen raspberries, because that's what I had on hand. These muffins are dense and a really great blend of chocolate and fruit. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonpoodle April 28, 2008

These were very good muffins - we had them for dessert - and then for breakfast this morning! I used 1/4 cup canola oil instead of margarine, but otherwise did everything else as stated in the recipe. The whole family enjoyed them! Made and reviewed for PAC Spring 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva April 09, 2008

These were yummy muffins! Really enjoyed the blend of chocolate and berries. I used frozen strawberries thawed, but next time I think I will keep them frozen and possibly toss with flour so they don't go to the bottom. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady February 22, 2008

I really enjoyed these muffins, and they keep for a couple of days (at least in my house it does.) I'll never know how long it lasts beyond two days because we kept snatching them up. The raspberry reserves worked really well as the centre of the muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef February 22, 2008

5 stars! What an original idea for the RSC! I have to say that I am probably biased as chocolate and strawberry is one of my favorite combinations so I knew I would love these. The filling is just so good with the dark chocolate muffin. The muffin part was a little on the dry side but the strawberries helped that. BIL did not really care for them, but SIL loved them as well as DH. They were at thier best just a little warm :)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 February 22, 2008
Burstin' Berries Double Chocolate Muffins