27 Reviews

Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe. It was very simple to prepare yet it yields delicious results. My brother, who is a good cook had a taste and immediately requested this recipe too. Yummy!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ October 28, 2001

This is great my men eat it up and ask for more. The only hard part is keeping them out of the meat so you can get it shreaded it smells so good. Lily Sawyer

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lily2 September 28, 2001

My husband is a really picky eater and he loved this very easy recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melody Olson May 24, 2001

This was pretty decent - a very basic crock pot recipe. I didn't notice anything special about it, taste-wise, when compared to other beef crock pot recipes. I wasn't home when it was done, so I had my husband turn the pot off and remove the meat from the juices.

When I got home, I threw part of the meat in a skillet - especially the edges of the roast that were covered with the mixture (reserved the middle part of the roast for something else - probably gonna make BBQ meat with it) and added a couple of cups of the juice from the crock pot to the skillet, as well. After the beef was shredded and mixed with the extra juice, the flavor was a bit bland. I then added cumin, garlic, jalapeƱo hot sauce, cayenne pepper and some Mexican chili powder. Those things pepped it up quite a bit, and allowed me to season it to our preferences.

In retrospect, I wish I would have added some canned peppers in adobo to the crockpot mixture. I have a chicken recipe that literally can't be beat, and the recipe includes that component - I think it really makes the meat flavorful.

If you didn't want to bother separating the meat by my method (the middle part of the roast untouched by the Mexican-inspired flavor), the meat would be fine with some spicy BBQ sauce. The flavors would meld fine, so no real big deal either way.

Toppings that taste good with my bastardized version? Sour cream, Mexican cheese, and raw onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betheigh January 18, 2011

Simple to prepare but my family really didn't care for the flavor,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karlaknighton January 16, 2011

We loved this! I can't wait to make it again. I think I'll try some ground meat because my husband has braces and the shredded meat was tricky for him. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindyFlugelman October 20, 2009

Wonderful! Our roast came out a little tough and was not the easiest to shred, so we cubed the meat and dumped it back in the crock pot to let it soak up the juices. Sooo good! We made ours Chipotle style. The only thing missing was the corn salsa...Just gotta find that copycat recipe! Thanks so much! We really enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn_Chelle July 09, 2009

Awesome!!! I would give this 10 stars if I could. There weren't any rump roasts at the store when I went, so I got a chuck roast, and it turned out perfect. I also served Queso Blanco Dip on top and it was *fantastic*. This is going to be a regular at our house from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma July 01, 2009

This was a very simple, delicious recipe that deserves many more than five stars. I was pleasantly surprised at how very, very easy this was and we could not stop eating it. I am very glad that I tried this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Essie Jane June 25, 2009

My family gobbled this up! I made some queso sauce to go with it and it was fabulous. The only negative thing that I seemed to notice was that it was a bit salty, but this had to be due to the taco seasoning that I used so I will be using a different one next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TX_mom_3 December 18, 2008
Burritos for the Crock Pot