68 Reviews

A great inexpensive meal. We used Trader Joes Refried black beans with Jalapenos, which are delicious, so I think we'll do the same thing next time. Also, I read another review that suggested doubling the tortilla layer, so we did that and I think it was the right move.

We halved the recipe for 2 of us and we have a ton leftover, but its definitely all going to get eaten. We will for sure make this again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VAGamecock July 30, 2010

Very good and easy. I only had one can of refried beans, so I used a can of black beans to go along with it. I didn't have a 4 quart casserole either, so used a regular lasagna pan and it barely fit. Everyone in my family said they liked it (a rarity.) This one goes into a regular rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 May 12, 2010

I made this as a healthy, lower fat option to celebrate Cinco de Mayo. I used ground turkey instead of beef, omitted the olives, and halfed the recipe since there are only 2 of us eating. I also added a chopped jalepeno pepper because i had one on hand that I needed to use before it went bad. I lightened up the recipe with fat free refried beans and Kraft Free Cheddar cheese. This was a deliciuos way to satifsy a mexican food craving, and it wasn't overly difficult to make. Very tasty, it really does taste like a giant burrito. I thought at first it needed more heat, but the heat increased in your mouth as you kept eating. With my modifications, this was only 5 WW pts for 1/6 of the pie. My only complaint is that even though I toasted the tortillas before I assembled the pie, they still got soggy by the time I took it out of the oven, but that is not the recipe's fault. Thanks for sharing, we will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G May 06, 2010

Delicious!!! One of the best Mexican casseroles I have made...I followed the advice in one of the reviews and used a round dish...was perfect for using tortillas in a casserole...Definitely a hit in our home....Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive December 03, 2009

I'm sorry but I thought this meal was horrible! I followed the directions and thought it may be tasty-I served it to 2 others and we all ate it but afterwards agreed that it was the worst meal we had all had in at least 10 years! Maybe I did something wrong, but the 3 of us were not a fan of this at all! Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALC October 29, 2009

We gobbled this up in a flash! Really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wholelottagall July 24, 2009

My DH and I loved this...but not very good reheated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a-torres June 18, 2009

I thought the recipe sounded good, but was surprised how great it really was! The flavors were very good together. DH and I even cheated a bit and ate some of the mixture with tortilla chips prior to actually getting it loaded into the pan. It was a hit with adults and children. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyd May 07, 2009

cheap to make and feeds a lot! can be made with corn tortillas successfully, if you don't like the flour ones. i usually add a couple of chopped jalapenos, as we like our food a little spicier. very good recipe! thanks, denise, for posting. p.s. i usually top with a little sour cream and salsa mixed together, and some diced tomato for presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie61 April 04, 2009

Delicious and one of my daughter's favorite. I also make it with ground turkey but the boca crumbles also are a nice substitute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgordon10 March 22, 2009
Burrito Pie