Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Burrito Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Burrito Pie

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2002

      This is really yummy! I cut the recipe in half. I used ground turkey instead of beef. Also, instead of the colby cheese, I used the mexican style shredded cheddar cheese. I used a round 2.5QT casserole dish, and the tortillas fit in there perfectly. It is kind of like a mexican lasagna casserole. It is spicy and has kick, but not too hot. Really yummy! Even when the recipe is cut in half, it still makes a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Excellent! I also have made this one from allrecipes.com. I served this for company and it was a Huge hit. If you like Mexican food you Will love this! It does make a ton though, I'd suggest halving it for an average-sized family, unless you're making one to eat and one to freeze. Most definite keeper, I'd forgotten about it. Thank-you Denise for posting this, now I can add it to my Zaar cookbook, yay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2003

      Denise! What a wonderful dish! Made it last night for Dahling and myself and it definitely qualified as an "UMMM" dish. After every bite, Dahling would go "UMMM!" Only changed a few things, halved the recipe, used shredded cheddar jack with jalapenos and added about 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Gave it a nice snap. Will make this one over and over. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      This was outstanding! I was skeptical cause of the refried beans (I don't care for them too much) but when I did try it, I was floored! This is a great recipe that's going into my recipe box, that's for sure. Served with a little sour cream, maybe a salad or even some crunchy tortilla chips, voila! A great meal! Thanks for sharing this one. Even the leftovers tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      It's nice to find recipes that are easily converted for vegetarian feasting, and it's a bonus when the dish tastes great and is as easy to prepare as this one. We don't eat red meat, so I subbed Gimme Lean vegetarian "ground beef" and loved the result. No other changes... flavor is well balanced, spicy sauce, earthy beans, creamy cheese... and it smells wonderful while baking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2003

      Fantastic! I made the recipe exactly as directed and it was wonderful. Very tasty. I think when I make it next time I will add hot sauce in place of the taco sauce for an added kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      This recipe was a huge success. The only change I made was to use hot picante sauce instead of the taco sauce because I like my food on the spicy side. There were lots of leftovers, since there is presently only two of us, and they reheated very well. Good filling recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      I too subsituted "soy meat" for the beef and my new husband and stepson, who are not vegetarians, loved it. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2002

      This is so easy and so good. We love mexican and this really hit the spot. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      I loved this. My husband couldn't get enough and the kids were bummed when the leftovers were gone. We put some cilantro and black beans in this and served with some avocado slices. The recipe was not hard to make at all and I ripped my tortillas up for the layers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Made this twice now--great! Favorite way to make this is in 3 pie plates for easy freezing and good serving size. The tortillas fit perfectly in the pie plate. I find I need a lot more cheese--I use almost a whole 2 lb block! Each pie plate used 2-3 tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      This is 5 star for sure. I halved the recipe. I used ground chicken and montery jack cheese. It was a real hit with everyone. I will be making this one again for sure. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

    • on December 03, 2011

      Very easy to prepare and quite tasty. I added some jalepenos on the top layer before the last sprinkling of cheese, and used spicy jalepeno refried beans because my family likes things spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      We make this often. It is always a hit. Leftovers are even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      This was good. I used corn tortillas, cuz just a preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Used 1 lb beef, one can beans and 8 tortillas. My husband loved it. Best tortilla casserole I've found. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      It was quick and easy! I used salsa instead of the tomatoes and everything else was the same. I had some left over filling because I could not layer anymore. I will find something where I can use it. I served it with a cold corn salad and some sour cream. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I forgot the olives when I went shopping, and had only plain diced tomatoes, but this recipe was delicious and was a huge hit in my house. The *only* complaint I had was that the tortillas got sort of gummy/gluey during baking. I'm making it again tonight (I remembered the olives this time!) only I'm using soft corn tortillas instead of flour. I realize burritos aren't made with corn tortillas, lol, but it's worth a shot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      We were really surprised ad to how delicious this was. Next time I will add a can of Rotel. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Burrito Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.5
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    40%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 53.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 984.0 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites