53 Reviews

Very easy to put together. I used fat free beans & low fat Bisquick. It was tasty. The cheese stuck to the foil, so I think I will leave the foil off next time. It was really "wet" with the taco sauce, so I think it will work out without the foil. My husband wants taco chips with it next time. I also made a note to leave it in the oven for 35 minutes next time. It's a keeper. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndianaNana May 06, 2008

Awesome! I'm on a quick, easy, & cheap kick - and if I can make it healthy - even better. Used Heartsmart Bisquick, organic re-fried black beans, veggie beef, and Old El Paso taco sauce. Also cut back a little on the cheese and it was FANTASTIC! Used the 8x8 pan & ended up baking for 27 mins. Let it sit for 20, then cut it and it had set perfectly. So easy that our 4yr old practically made it himself - a 6 ingredient wonder and a big hit with the whole family (even our 2yr old had 3 pieces)! We literally had to pull ourselves away from it. Served with light sour cream and sweet corn. Terrific recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinot Grigio March 04, 2008

My husband and I really enjoyed this easy burrito bake. I used ff beans, low fat Bisquick, and cooked the meat with some homemade taco seasoning. I used a Safeway brand Taqueria taco sauce and just used enough to coat the meat. I may have pulled it out of the oven a few min. too fast since my bean layer was soft. I let set for 15 min. and it did cut neatly, though. I will be making this often! Thanks Paige, for posting. UPDATE: my second time I baked a bit longer and my bean layer was a little more set. Roxygirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado January 21, 2008

Pretty darn good- and so so easy. I will have to play with it, for our tastes- but it's a super easy basic recipe that I will make again and again and again, because I usually have everything needed in my freezer/pantry. I modified it to make it a bit healthier, and it worked great. Reduced fat cheese, ground turkey, fat free refried beans and heart healthy bisquick. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM April 09, 2007

This was great. Like someone else said, adding too much beef will cause it to overflow, and make a smokey mess of the oven/kitchen. I also had added an onion and green pepper chopped, add great flavor, but did cause an overflow. I'll use a slightly larger pan next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mysticchyna November 25, 2006

My family didn't care for this. After seeing all of the good reviews I'm just wondering if I missed something because the "crust" was basically just a big pile of refried beans. Was this supposed to bake up a little more like a crust? To us it seemed more like a party dip rather than a dinner dish. Maybe someone can give me some insight into why mine was so "thick" and "heavy".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanyassm May 04, 2015

What a great recipe! Super quick and easy to make and not only tastes great but is filling for 2 grown men, thus making this a 5 star recipe in my book. I made exactly as written and can't wait to make again adding some green chilies, onions to the meat mixture and maybe some corn meal or fried onions to the beans for a little extra texture. Make this recipe soon - you won't be sorry!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ February 09, 2013

Sorry to give it three stars, but I made it and did not like it. It was quite a bit too doughy for me. I gave it a three stars, because my son absolutely loved it and told me to make sure I made it for him again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferTX2 June 18, 2012

We had this tonight and enjoyed it. It was so easy and even my 2 y/o scarfed it up :P Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinKristen March 20, 2011
Burrito Bake