Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Burgundy Meatball Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Burgundy Meatball Stew

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2008

      Absolutely delicious. Easy to make. I made it in a crockpot and cooked it on high for 5 hours. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2013

      I baked the meatballs instead of frying them in a pan. The gravy is delicious. Everyone liked this recipe a lot. It gives a lot. Thanks abloom :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

    • on August 11, 2012

      I was really surprised at how delicious this dish was. I made the recipe as directed except for adding 1 chopped onion and some celery and using just 1 large potato. My grandson was with us for dinner and he devoured his stew.I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      YUM! This dish is awesome! Super easy and inexpensive to make and has great deep flavor. I'll definitely be making this often, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      This was very good. I used homemade frozen meatballs, fingerling potatoes and low sodium tomato sauce, beef bullion and no added salt. I put it together in the crock pot in the morning and came home to a hardy meal which was very welcoming since it had been raining all day. Since there's only the 2 of us, the rest went in the freezer for future meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      this was great! (I used frozen meatballs, don't hate me for that, we had them on hand and I wanted to use them up)
      I was able to throw this all into the crock pot before I went to work and came home to delicious meal... cooked on low for 7 hours and then my daughter turned the crock to "keep warm" till dinner time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      This was okay but I actually thought it was lacking in flavour. I made as written except that I omitted the mushrooms which were optional anyways. After 1 hour of cooking, the veggies were still very hard so I turned up the heat by 25 degrees and cooked another 30 minutes. Also, I tasted it after the first hour and thought it needed some spices added so put in some marjoram, more garlic, worcestershire and a bay leaf. This did help, but for me it was still missing something. Thx for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I loved this! I did season my meatballs diff. but everything else was to a tee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      YUMMMY!! This really was a delicious stew. I especially love the red wine. I cooked mine in a tall pot on the stove for an hour on medium, and it was perfect. I browned the meatballs in a skillet, leaving the inside nice and raw to finish cooking in the stew (kept them from drying out). I also used fresh thyme in the meatballs, which I found to be a little overpowering, so dried is definitely the way to go. I also recommend doubling the water and beef consomme, as I had WAY too many veggies and not enough broth. You might even add more red wine :D My boyfriend and I went running in the cold and rain before dinner so the stew would taste better ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I made this exactly by the recipe and it was delicious. It was plenty for a family for three, and I ended up freezing the leftovers for another time. I'm giving it 4 stars because the prep time was much longer than 30 mintues. In fact, it was much more work than I usually do for a recipe (making meatballs, lots of chopping, etc.). So next time I might buy already made meatballs. Like other posters said, I needed to about double the cooking time to get the veggies soft. I will make this again, with some shortcuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I made the meatballs ahead of time and froze them. When I put this together, I placed the frozen meatballs, frozen onions, baby carrots, and potatoes in the bottom of the crockpot. I stirred together the remaining ingredients in a bowl (including some dried parsley) and poured it over the top. I wasn't paying attention when I made it though and I forgot to add the flour to thicken it up. It still tasted fantastic; it was just more like a soup, which we sopped up with some nice crusty french bread. Thank you, this is a keeper for our OAMC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      A whole meal in a bowl! What a great stew! I made some crescent rolls to go with it and we were good to go! Stews are a favorite around here in the colder months, and we will have this again, as both my BF and I loved it. I brought the leftovers over to my moms house, and my dad loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      This was really easy and good. Even the kids liked it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Was going to submit this recipe myself till I found it already here! This is one of my favorite recipes, the flavors work so well together and a neat change from using regular stewing beef. This also makes a great buffet dish. Inexpensive and easy with a gourmet taste. I agree though with a previous poster that you might want to cook it longer to make sure the potatoes are done, I usually cook it for at least an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      An extremely flavorful stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      I don't think the word "yummy" fully expresses HOW DARN GOOD THIS STEW IS. I made a loaf of Honey Oatmeal Bread (Honey Wheat Oatmeal Bread) to go with it and the result was stupendous and perfect for a fall day. The meatballs were tender and falvorful, the broth was EXCELLENT (great for sopping up with fresh bread) and I'm happy to report even my picky 5 YO enjoyed it...a true "thumbs up" from us all. I'll DEFIANTELY be making this again. I made according to directions, but cooked on high in my crockpot for about 4-5 hours. Only one serving left, and that's lunch for ME! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Simple,delicious and Easy,what more can you ask for? The stew was the best I have ever eaten, My husband LOVED it,and it was so easy to make. Thank you for a great recipe.Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      This is very good. The wine gives it a nice flavor. My veggies weren't done after the cooking time was up. Next time I will make it for the freezer since it was undercooked and that way I won't have any mushy veggies when I reheat it. Fast to prepare and delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      One of the best stews I've tasted. Easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Burgundy Meatball Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (458 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 599.3
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    42%
    Total Fat 28.4 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 138.9 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1267.2 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 34.9 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites