12 Reviews

I have made this for many years, its my April Fool's Dinner. Every year I tell the kids that they are having cake for dinner (april Fool's). They think it is awesome, and its something different for the kids, which they love. My only difference is that I bake the Meat in the Bundt, and then I frost it with the mashed potatoe's. great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Alesia Gideon's Keeper September 16, 2008

Made this past weekend for our new son in law who loves burgers and is a very 'meat and potatoes' guy. He adored this and dh loved it too! DD went home with the recipe! Made a quick and easy meal while we waited for Ike to strike. Thanks Wildflour! *Made for Bevy Tag*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) September 15, 2008

Oh my gosh...someone was looking for a recipe in a bundt pan...and I was bragging how good this one is..then noticed...I never reviewed it!! I've made this several times (makes a ton) great for casual dinner with friends! (also have handed this recipe out to several people with teenagers lol) Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP March 02, 2007

Was browsing for a bundt cake recipe and came across this one and just had to try it. I made it that evening for dinner and the whole family enjoyed it. I like the idea of it being presented so differently. Actually looked like a cake! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieKay September 26, 2005

I doubled the recipe as I was expecting a large crowd. I reduced the cheddar cheese soup to three cans and used about 1/2 pound shredded cheddar cheese. It was very tasty. One of my guests commented that it tastes like shepherd's pie. It does to some extent. I didn't have any chives (I thought I did) so I used a few onion flakes in the crust. I also used onion flakes in the filling, as I am not an onion fan. Next time I will reduce the amount of mustard or maybe even eliminate. I'd like to try it with barbeque sauce in place of the ketchup. My friend suggested sausage would be good mixed with the hamburger. I fed it to 13 ladies and several took some of the leftovers home. It goes a long way and makes for a great presention.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen March 09, 2007

After reading all these wonderful reviews, I even went out an bought us a 6 cup bundt to try this with my small family. I have to say I was really disappointed. The crust, which was the part I was most intrigued with, was unbelieveably dry, tasteless, and tough. I followed the recipe faithfully - don't know what I could have done wrong, but I don't think I will be re-trying this one. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news on this one - it might also just be me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alclaire June 12, 2006

Wanted: Missing Bundt Pan I made the recipe and was ready to pull out my husband's Bundt pan. It was gone! No, I have never used one. At least I knew what it looked like. We moved here over 4 years ago, and I could have sworn it came with us. Oh well. I used a large (10"?) springform pan for this recipe. It was gorgeous! Whether I had flipped it upside down or not, I still came out looking like Martha Stewart! I used ground sirloin, and instead of butter or margarine, I used one stick of margarine and filled out the rest of the measurement with butter. The milk was 1% fat, and I used just 1 Tbsp prepared mustard. I am so glad I did. If you dislike mustard, like I do, leave it out. Perhaps because I had to improvise on the pan, my finished product came out a tad runny. Not a lot! No complaint there! It was like a cheeseburger pie instead of being solid like a meatloaf, which I expected from the picture. The leftovers had solidified, though, and they held together perfectly. The crust was oh, so thick and yummy. Again, I used a different pan, so maybe mine was thicker? I needed more fluids to drink to help with the crust. Nevertheless, it was delicious, and it never softened. We had it for two dinners and two lunches, and the crust stayed crunchy. Maybe they should use this instead of pizza crust. Hmm. I would love to try this Mexican style (corn, chilies, beans), pizza style (pepperoni, tomato sauce), with different cheeses (Provolone, Meunster, mozzarella), with diced chicken, topped with fresh lettuce, tomatoes, onions, etc. Yum! Do you think you could come up with a breakfast version using eggs and sausage?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burned Toast April 13, 2006

Mmmm - really good! I had no idea what to expect but my whole family really liked it. It's filling - perfect to serve with a salad. I added bacon bits and diced dill pickels and it tasted just like a bacon cheeseburger. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Johnson March 02, 2006

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed!!Will definitely be making this again.. Especially when company`s coming.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat^..^atude February 03, 2006
Burger-In-A-Bundt !