Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bunny Chow and Its Durban Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bunny Chow and Its Durban Curry

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2011

      Totally authentic Durban bunny recipe, only thing missing is we always eat bunnies with a side of sambal. Grated carrot, chopped green chillies and soaked in white vinegar. You can also add chopped onion and chopped coriander to this for a bit of variety and all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      HI there bunny chow lovers,this is a lovely mouth watering recipe.I have cooked it several times,but to really enhance the flavour you must include garlic,in fact at least two cloves crushed garlic added towards the end of the cooking time brings all the flavour to the fore.I also add during cooking time a half a cup of fresh cut corrianda,man you will love it.

      Lou Corbitt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I first read about Bunny Chow in a small article in the Dwell magazine...I loved the idea of eating out of a bread bowl. The recipe that I saw has stayed with me to the point that one night while shopping, I bought a jar of Mango curry sauce and bought some chicken breasts with a small loaf of French bread and I made a quick curry. My ''fussy'' teenage daughter loved it, what can I say more... I have been searching for other types of curries to try this recipe again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Although the story and the promise of a rich spicy lamb dish lured me, this recipe did not work for me. It was coming along nicely until I tried to "stir and fry until the spices stick to the bottom of the pot"; the spices never stuck, and I think they burnt in the process; I'm wondering if it's because of the 1/2 cup of oil? When I've tried recipes like this in the past, they've called for 3 tablespoons of oil, most of which gets absorbed into the spices! I'm just guessing here! I did make my own Garam Masala (Hot Mixed Spice), and I substituted kaffir lime leaves for the curry leaves, which were not available in my area. Sorry, Zurie! Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      This was amazing! I had to cut back in cayenne a bit (very spicy) and did garnish with cilantro. Terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      This is a good 'bitter' curry, and maybe a bit too much of a 'powder' taste. I'd suggest to reduce the 3 tablespoons of garam masala to 3 teaspoons. Adding a large chopped carrot improves the taste. Remember to add salt afterwards, and quite a bit. I simmer the meat only for 10min and then pressure cook for 15min after adding the water, potatoes and carrots, and everything turns out super soft and succulent. Add a dollop of chutney to the side after dishing up to break the bitter taste for those who are used to the sweeter curry's. This recipe also works with chicken, perhaps exchanging the water for a good liquid chicken stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This dish was amazing as soon as I saw it I had to have it....It is a must have even though with the whole spices I added 3 chillis... still was not hot enough but it did the trick... thank you for the awesome recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I love the story of this recipe. I love the name of this recipe. I love the presentation of this recipe. I think once I find that perfect curry that everyone in my family loves, this will be the only way I will want to serve it! :) Unfortunately this particular curry was not to our taste. The kids and I thought it was too spicy (and I was wondering how it got so spicy from a smidge of cayenne!). The hotheads of the family thought it needed to be MORE spicy. I did have a couple of problems making it. First, I could not find curry leaves. I didn't know that there was an actual curry plant (I thought it was just the name of a type of blend). I went to 3 different grocery stores ranging from cheap ethnic to suburbanite to all organic and not one of them had any. So I substituted bay, which I know means that what we tasted is not what you would. Also, with the amount of oil and the oil coming out of the whole spices, I could not get my spices to stick! lol I waited, I stirred, I waited, I stirred, finally I had to get the dish going so my family could eat. :) I don't think it hurt the dish too much, as there was a rich texture of flavor to this dish, very intensely spiced. Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Great recipe, tried and tested a few times now, blooming marvelous! many thanks matey :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Being a Durbanite, and being a Bunny Chow eater, I am always looking for new ways to make curry to have as a Bunny Chow. My family loves it and it is filling. I was so happy to see a Bunny Chow recipe here, I instantly made it. It was wonderful, tasty, and not too "hot". The only thing I added was Carrots. MAny thanks for sharing this recipe, it was wonderful and I will definately use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bunny Chow and Its Durban Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (593 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2165.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1111
    51%
    Total Fat 123.4 g
    189%
    Saturated Fat 35.0 g
    175%
    Cholesterol 303.9 mg
    101%
    Sodium 1305.8 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 154.7 g
    51%
    Dietary Fiber 13.6 g
    54%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 106.6 g
    213%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    star anise

    whole cardamom pods

    curry leaves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes