50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is great! I didn't have the dried garlic so I used 2 teaspoons of garlic powder and probably could use a little more. Make sure to crush the red pepper flakes too, so that you distribute the spicy goodness throughout! We Love this recipe and it's a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelvin October 20, 2009

This is absolutely delicious! I could not find granulated garlic anywhere, so I subbed garlic powder. I also cut the salt in half. This is much better than the storebought seasoning and it will be used anytime we have out burritos, tacos, etc. Made for Went to the Market. Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif July 30, 2009

Fantastic flavor! I mix this in some chicken broth (or water) and pour over chicken breasts in the crockpot. When the meat is done, shred it for tacos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkipperGirl January 05, 2014

This is the only Taco Seasoning I use anymore. No more additives in those packaged mixes! I do however I too decrease the salt as the post person notes here, however I also add a teaspoon of granulated sugar to the mix to round out the flavor and make it not so tart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandys7118 January 29, 2013

I used this several ways (crock pot recipes, burritos, tacos, taco soup). I thought it was ok for a while (3 stars), but it gave my husband heartburn and does to me sometimes too. I think it's too much chili powder for my taste in these types of recipes. I'm discovering that I prefer the taste of black pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.cleaveland October 10, 2012

This is really good. I printed this off 2 years ago but never tried until I ran out of taco seasoning today. Sue wish I had tried before this was fabulous. I have never seen dried garlic in this area so used powdered garlic. I left out the salt haven't descided yet If I should put some in or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady May 29, 2012

This is very similar to the recipe I've used for years. I use 2 tsp. garlic powder, 1-1/2 Tbsp. cumin, and about 1 tsp. oregano but otherwise, it's the same recipe. We love it for beef tacos, chicken tacos, soups, enchiladas, taco salad, etc. It is much better than the packets!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppergrrl March 22, 2012

My new favorite, I couldn't keep my fork out of the pan. I used Onion Powder. I was maybe still too salty with 1 T salt and I like things salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater August 25, 2011

This Taco Mix is the best. It is sooo delicious I reduced the salt to two teaspoons and I even switched out the oregano for cilantro. My new wife loves it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BIG MAC ATTACK June 06, 2010

Just what I needed! I couldn't see buying pre-packaged taco seasoning mix when I have all the components already in my spice cabinet. This recipe is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( March 29, 2010
Bulk Taco Seasoning Mix