9 Reviews

Utter perfection! I can't believe I actually have the recipe to make KFC!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayes306 November 21, 2012

My friend, you have nailed it!!! Yet again!!! My eldest son has told me that he will make good use of any of the bulk mix left over that I don't use ~ haha! I have forwarded him the recipe! Very nice, and I think that perhaps this is the one that I was hoping for since the last one I reviewed went MIA. This is as close to KFC as I've had without actually stealing a broken bag of mix! :) You are truly the "Spice Guru" and I bow to you! Keep up the good work!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
less2saw February 12, 2012

Wow! Great mix! Makes great K F C chicken!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pcinfremont October 16, 2011

I love this mix of spices used it to make wedges and fish. It was really great LOVE it!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
masalamo January 02, 2012

absolutely incredible! How does he do it? I love this seasoning. I made a batch and it smells terrific! I'm letting it sit for 30 days before use.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flavorguru September 02, 2012

For a really authentic flavor use 100% Beef Tallow instead of peanut oil. Use pure egg whites and skim milk powder to make a slightly thick mix to dredge the chicken in before the batter to make a coating that won't fall off.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dezigns33 January 24, 2012

For those of you saying you can't find the spices (such as ground spices like anise and vanilla) just make your own! Vanilla is easy - you just toast a bean until it's dry and then stick it in a coffee/spice grinder. Same thing with anise seeds - throw them in a coffee/spice grinder and BOOM you've got ground spices. Same thing with everything else. Wipe out your grinder with a dry paper towel between grinds if you're worried about flavor transfer, but since they are all going in the mix together, it doesn't really matter much here. You can really save $$$ by making some of the "weird" spices you don't usually see in ground form. If you are worried about cost on William Sanoma vanilla beans, just make sure you get Tahitian ones - different regions taste different so at least get the right country. (Don't sub Mexican or Madagascar for Tahitian, the taste will be off, off, off!) Try Ebay if you are really worried, then toast away and grind at a fraction of a cost. YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE WEALTHY TO EAT KENTUCKY FRIED CHICKEN - we're south of the Mason Dixon Line down in these parts ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra Harriman Shepard June 11, 2016

had no access to savory (subbed w/ half measure of rosemary), no turmeric or vanilla, my son (who hated chicken B4 he Demolished 2#) exclaimed "OMG, Don't change a thing, I can eat this all day long!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ac2nca December 03, 2015

I wish I could have given more stars but I found all the notes to be overkill. Many of the spices or brands were impossible to find where I live. AND some of them extremely costly, for example ground vanilla? ... Ground winter savory? Ground anise seeds. Chamomile? This recipe is clearly for the wealthy. I'm saving up cuz I really want to try it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pureyum March 08, 2014
Bulk KFC Original Recipe Seasoning (Copycat)