Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bulgur Breakfast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bulgur Breakfast

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2013

      Great breakfast! I scaled this to one serving and like another reviewer had to add a bit more water (about 2T) at about the 10 minute mark. This was soft and creamy with just a bit of a bite and the nutty wheat flavor was great with the apple and honey. I did add the cinnamon on top and really enjoyed this hearty and healthy breakfast - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      What a welcome change from the daily oatmeal. I loved the texture and bite feel and who doesn't love apple and cinnamon! I do need to say that the water in the amount given here was absorbed in 2 mins and I needed to add a good bit more (sorry I didn't measure what I added)then turned the stove down to the 2 mark for a slow simmer for the next 16 mins. The end result made a great hot breakfast that was well enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I gave this five stars, but I did not make it exactly. I used 1/2 cup bulgur and one cup of water. Cooked for ten minutes. Then added 2 T of sliced almonds, 2T of craisins, and 2 t. of maple syrup. It was incredible. I am so excited to find a new breakfast food. I was so worried becauset my bulgur got rancid on the shelf, so I now put it in the frige but it takes up so much room. Now I can use it up. This recipe can be made in a million different ways. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I absolutely loved this. Chewy, nutty and sooo satisfying. . I added the honey as it simmered and then stirred in the applesauce (forgot the butter). I topped it off with blueberries and some cream. Deb, it was a great way to start the day off. I've got to do this more often. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I had really high hopes for this, since I love oatmeal and typically like cooked bulgur. Something about the applesauce taste that is not working for me, though. I added the honey and butter and it still tastes "funny" to me. Sweet but in an odd way. Oh well, sometimes we don't like things we try. I really appreciate the chance to try healthy recipes, so thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I used to eat barley (either with sugar and cinnamon as a sweet treat, or with salt and butter as a savory treat), and then I discovered my youngest is allergic to barley. OK, time for a new plan! And here's the barley substitute (no, he's not allergic to wheat). I left out the butter and honey, and don't miss it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Very interesting! I've had bulgur sitting in my house since I discovered it, but had yet to make anything with it. Not sure if I did anything wrong since I've never made it before, but it wasn't quite as soft as oatmeal. I forgot the butter and honey, but it was the perfect sweetness for me. My DD gobbled it right up too! I added cinnamon and raisins to mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Debs your recipes somehow always hit the spot for me! This is another dish I truly enjoyed! Very easy, yet very tasty and nutritious! Mmmm! :) Like Toni I too added a sprinkling of cinnamon on top just cause I thought it would make a lovely addition. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing another keeper with us! Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game Octobre 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Made this as a new take on my morning grains. It was creamy and satisfying and the honey was just right. Added a good amount of cinnamon - love the stuff -- and topped it with an assortment of berries. Yummmy. Made for the Safari Supper Club Summer Spectacular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This was a nice change from oats and a new way of serving bulgur for me. Much enjoyed, thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      VERY, VERY NICE BREAKFAST, & definitely a tasty change of pace for early morning! I did use a homemade applesauce that was slightly sweetened but then cut back by half on the honey! Thanks, much, for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my Vegetarian partners in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 7]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bulgur Breakfast

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.0
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    57%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 31.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes