19 Reviews

I made the sauce but deep fried my wings, drained, then mixed with the sauce. I also added more onion and a little less butter. The onion and oregano definitely made this the best wings we have ever had, topping all that we have had in restaurants, and were the hit of our super bowl appetizers!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaggieOhio January 26, 2003

This was really good. I left out the oregano and seasoned my wings before cooking them (salt, pepper, garlic powder). I think I should have let them sit in the sauce for about 20 mins before putting them back in the oven. But they were a big hit.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morningglory December 09, 2002

Maggie, this is a definite winner! After seasoning the wings with salt and pepper, I deep fried them. When they had cooled a bit, I poured the cooled sauce over them in a large zip-lock bag. After staying in the refrigerator for about four hours (I like doing everything possible ahead of time) I dumped them into a large, shallow pan and baked them at 325 degrees for about 45 minutes. They were perfect, with the glaze coating them....not messy. Needless to say, they disappeared fast. Thanks a bunch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoSpringChicken November 29, 2003

The taste is amazing and really warrants 5 stars on taste alone!!! However, I found that the recipe could have been much clearer. For instance, I have seen three different sized bottles of Frank's, and I have no idea which size was to be used, so I guessed on the amounts and made some adjustments. Also, is the minced onion fresh or the dehydrated kind? It makes quite a difference in the amount that should be used. I used fresh wings, and baked them at 425 as suggested until crispy on the outside. This took about 40- 45 minutes per batch (a very full baking sheet). I found when I basted them with the juices, they came out crispier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha April 17, 2004

Made these for our annual Christmas eve party and they are fabulous! I baked them at 425° for about 45 minutes and they were nice and crispy. I let them cool a bit and poured the sauce over. At party time we reheated them and they were perfect. Thanks so much for posting this, Maggie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie December 26, 2003

Didn't realize I hadn't rated these!! These are the best!! We used fresh wings, half of a 23 oz. bottle of Frank's hot sauce, and fresh vidalia onion. Making them again today for the holiday, and can't wait!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cricketbird May 30, 2010

These were nice and spicy. My guests enjoyed them very much. Will definitely make these again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full December 20, 2009

This recipe saved my wings! I tried to make a different Buffalo Wing Recipe that was supposed to be a health alternative but it had absolutely NO flavor. I looked at my poor wings and was about to throw them out but my teenage son was laughing at me saying I told you so and I couldn't ignore that challenge. I told him I wasn't finished, kept looking and when I saw Chef Dee's photo and your ingredients I knew I had a winner. It was awesome. I really can't thank you enough for saving my wings and my reputation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef babydrum January 28, 2008

Not bad for oven done. In a pinch I would do these again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey August 10, 2007

I liked the flavor of the sauce a lot but like other reviewers, I got tripped up by the size of hot sauce & fresh vs dehydrated onions. I feel mine would have turned out better if the meat had marinated in the sauce for awhile (& I'd used bigger bottles of hot sauce). My guests liked these but did not go wild for them. Thanks for a very nice recipe, MaggiePA; we'll try it again in the future, with some adjustments (pls. see my rating system).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhoKnew? October 07, 2006
Buffalo Wings