8 Reviews

We loved these -- they were the perfect snack for us to eat while watching football on TV. I made them exactly as directed, but since some other reviewers stated that they weren't that hot/spicy, I not only put the hot sauce in the batter, but also tossed them in some hot sauce after they were done frying. I loved the taste of the scallions in the blue cheese dip!! So delicious!! Thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester September 30, 2010

Great poppers, crispy and puffy, the pancake mix works really well on this recipe. However, like all the other reviewers have said before, I will also say; they don't turn out spicy. Maybe omitting the hot sauce from the batter but tossing the bits in hot sauce after frying would help the issue.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 22, 2009

these fry up really nicely,next time i will have to use a hotter brand of hot sauce.They were good,but not ver spicy.Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winggirl February 03, 2008

I made this recipe with regular size chicken tenders. The coating was good on the tenders, however, I did use the Hot sauce - but you couldn't taste it. I neglected to realize that I probably needed to increase the amount of hot sauce -though I'm still not sure why. Seems to me hot is hot and it shouldn't matter. I'll attempt these again though - perhaps the hot sauce is too old - and the fire has gone out :) Guess I' ll try a younger bottle!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Thorn of Hudson, FL November 18, 2006

this is a very good recipe. delicious, easy and fun to eat,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook2003 July 22, 2006

I'll tell ya, these are really great. we omit the hot sauce for the kids, but the coating is DELISH! They fry up real nice, not like regular flour does. YUMMMMMY thanks for sharing~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebM March 11, 2006

To quote RR -- "YUM-O!" and totally delish! So easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Saint O March 06, 2006

I watched Rachel make these yesterday morning on her "Bar Food" episode. We made them last night. Super easy and super good. The kids loved them and so did we.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Patrish January 01, 2006
Buffalo Popcorn Chicken Bites