68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Being near the home of the original Buffalo Chicken Wings from the Anchor Bar in Buffalo, NY - I, of course, made this using 1 bottle of Anchor Bar wing sauce instead of hot sauce. Tastes exactly like the Buffalo Wings we get there! A note: I skip the shredded cheese. I use shredded chicken breasts, 1 bottle Anchor Bar wing sauce, 2 pkg cream cheese, 1 bottle ranch salad dressing, and 1-1/2 cups very good quality crumbled bleu cheese. The Anchor Bar sauce and the bleu cheese crumbles are really what makes this dip. I put all the ingredients into a crockpot and bring the crockpot with me when bringing this to potluck events. Sometimes I will triple the amount of chicken and make "chicken wing salad" for sandwiches or wraps. Super yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ciocia DD July 20, 2009

I've been making this dip for over a year now, and procrastinated in rating it. It's absolutely delicious! Usually I don't add as much Frank's, just because my family can't handle it. I also serve the celery on the side, and use whatever shredded cheese I might have in the house. Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellyrae6 December 20, 2009

Everybody devoured it - big hit for Christmas Eve! I opted to use 2 cans of chicken (so much easier) drained and shredded. I left out the celery. I used a bottle of 'lite' bleu cheese dressing and about 3/4 of a bottle of Frank's Buffalo Wing style hot sauce. Served with scoops!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelledreger December 29, 2012

I've had about 20 people ask me for this recipe already. Best when just out of the oven. Whole bottle of Frank's hot sauce is a bit much. Perfect with 3/4ths of a bottle. I don't use the celery. FANTASTIC dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sywilliams August 14, 2010

Excellent. Simple. Pretty cheap to do and fast. The only way I think it would benefit is if it were kept on low in a slow cooker for dipping all night long. Keeping it warm is critical. I think it would also be fine with more celery if you're serving it with tortilla chips. I used Renee's Ranch Dressing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev June 13, 2010

I pretty much use the same recipe for my chicken wing dip- everyone requests it for parties! and its always gone so fast. I make a few changes tho- I don't put celery in the dip, i just serve it with it. and i layer my cream cheese on the bottom and put the chicken mixture over it- I find the cream cheese always clumps up anyway. I also use mozzarella for mine, and layer it on top as well as in the dip. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyssz1225 December 06, 2009

Excellent party dish! This was a HUGE success at the party I brought it to. Two things I did different: used ranch dressing instead of blue cheese and also reserved the celery for dipping instead of chopping it up and including it in the mix. Thanks for sharing! I plan to make it again for an office potluck at the end of this month!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YumBean January 12, 2009

I make this all the time and it is sooooo addictive. I use 2 cans of the Tyson chicken breast, a whole bottle of Hooter's hot wing sauce, ranch dressing, and leave out the celery. It can be somewhat greasy after baking so I like to dab a paper towel to get rid of some of that. Great recipe :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle November 24, 2008

I have made this recipe several times except I use 2 large cans of chicken and put in all in a crock pot. I put it on high for a couple of hours and then turn down to low. When serving, I put on warm. It is always a big hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonda April 06, 2008

I used 1/2 bottle of Frank's Red Hot Buffalo Wing Sauce and bleu cheese dressing. I really liked the taste. The only drawback for me was the amount of oil that was on top the dish. I dabbed a paper towel over the top to absorb some of it. All in all it was good and I'll be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda in Texas September 22, 2006
Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip