9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Such an easy little appetiser...and so delicious too!
I used Louisiana Hot Sauce ( all I had)...and although it was on the fiery side, we enjoyed it..I did, however, have to warn others...and those I didn't get to in time....well, it was fun to see their reactions!!
Like other reviewers...I too found it a little salty...possibly due to the doritos ( I used the 'Burn' variety, my kids love them!), and the fact that the blue cheese I used was full on, and quite salty too....I definitely wouldn't add any extra salt to this!
Nevertheless...these went down well at the party that I took them to..even being complimented by an American couple there...who I noticed kept going back for more!!
Thanks Shelby Jo...I'll be doing this again!
Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo February 11, 2012

Very easy and very good! I didn't do the individual chips b/c I had to feed a huge crowd but this combo worked great for a big platter of nachos. I also used unsalted butter, like TeresaS, to cut down on the possible saltiness and loaded up on the hot sauce (I like it spicy). The blue cheese-sour cream dressing was a big hit with my nacho noshers. I bought a block of blue cheese (rather than the store bought dressing) and mixed it with the sour cream. Very good. I used the leftover chicken and sour cream sauce the next day on a baked potato.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristine at Food.com February 07, 2011

This are darn good. I made as posted with the sour cream and blue cheese. The only problem I found was that it was on the salty side and I only used a dash of salt and pepper. I would suggest that you use unsalted butter. I didn't. I'm pretty sure the scoops have a lot of salt in them because I used them in another recipe it was also really salty. Just a heads up. We found the heat perfect for our taste buds. But we do like it hot. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas September 17, 2009

I used the 1/2 cup of hot sauce. My mother and DH found it too spicy. It's delicious. But next time I'll reduce the amount of hot sauce. Since we didn't find any scoops at the grocery store, I used restaurant kind and decided to mix everything, and dip the chips in it. I used ranch instead of blue cheese dressing. It was another way of serving this dish. Thanks Shelby Joe. Made for Zaar Star Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 02, 2009

This was really, really tasty!! I had to add about 1/2 stick of butter instead of the 1 tablespoon, and it was still pretty darn hot!! I used ranch dip instead of the sour cream - blue cheese mixture and it worked out just fine. We also had more than 12-scoops worth, so I just kept making them until we used up all the chicken. I'd say it was about 36-40 scoops. Made for Shelby Jo's win for Football Pool 2008, Week #16.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative December 27, 2008

These were so good. I made them as an appetizer at Thanksgiving. I did alter it just a bit. I used ranch dressing intead of blue cheese because i don't like blue cheese. I didn't think about it before hand but i made a bunch of them up and the chips got soggy, they still tasted good but next time i think i'll just put the chips by the chicken and the topping and let people put them together themselves. Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ludwigj December 21, 2008

What a great treat. Hot and spicy just the way I like it. This made much more that what fit into 12 scoops, but I'll save the leftovers and take for lunch next week. Loved the blue cheese mixture which went so well with the hot/spicy chicken. This will be really good on a bed of greens for a light dinner. Thanks Made for SSC Pet Parade.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ August 01, 2008

I made this for a great lunch for myself today. I made one big serving for myself in a baked whole wheat taco bowl instead of a small taco chips. I used low fat sour cream and skipped the butter. This recipe puts awesome use to left over chicken. This is a def. make again even if I dont have left over chicken!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme January 26, 2008
Buffalo Chicken Filled Tortilla Cups