460 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been making this recipe for years and yes...it is a big hit. I prefer the canned chicken for this recipe and I use two cans so it isn't so runny. Also, I throw it in a small crock pot to keep it warm at parties.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbrussum December 30, 2010

I have made this 4 times since Super Bowl Sunday! Always a hit! I make fresh Ranch Dressing with Sour Cream only. I use Cholula Hot sauce and fresh cooked chicken, not canned. Thank you so much for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Mom 28 May 17, 2010

This dip was delicious and spicy but not overly hot considering the amount of hot sauce. Even one of the 23-year-old guys asked for the recipe. My only complaint is the recipe didn't specify what size cans of chicken, and I used the smaller ones. Next time I'll use the larger cans. Thanks, Barb!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sybrsuzy January 19, 2004

it came out great, my boys loved it. We also made homemade pizza dough and put it inside like a calzone, oh my goodness amazing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missie0511 January 22, 2013

I loved this recipe, however I did take the reviews into account. I bought a rotisserie chicken and shredded the whole thing, I then put that into a saucepan with an entire bottle of franks hot buffalo sauce. I heated it on low/simmer until the chicken was warm (about 7-10 min). I then put that chicken into a baking dish. Next, I added 16oz (2 packages) of cream cheese, I used the low fat, and it still tasted great and about 3/4 cup of bleu cheese dressing and heated that in the same saucepan until the cream cheese had melted. I then poured the creamy mixture over the chicken in the baking dish. I put it in the oven on 350 for about 10 minutes and then sprinkled some cheddar cheese (about a handful) on top and reheated it until the cheese was melty. This recipe definitely has a KICK but in a very good way. Got tons of compliments. Next time I may use a little more bleu cheese to make the flavor more present but overall fabulous recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
collegecookIU February 07, 2011

I've made this many times and it's always great. Through trial and error I found that the brand of ranch dressing can make a BIG difference it the overall taste, my preference is Kraft and I like to use a bit more than the recipe calls for. I have a friend that uses blue cheese dressing because she prefers that. And for the sauce I suggest Ashanti Wing Sauce if you can find it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petitebaker October 23, 2010

Used Texas Pete Buffalo Wing sauce in place of hot sauce. Have taken to two parties and not had a bite left. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie McCormick January 19, 2004

Always a classic! I cook and shred fresh chicken, use Frank's Buffalo Wings sauce, reduced fat cream cheese, a peppercorn ranch dressing, and sharp cheddar. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 20, 2011

Ho-hum...another party....another few requests for this recipe!

Every time I'm invited to a get together, I make this recipe and it's unbelievable how many people really enjoy this dip. I mean, I do get it, because it is delicious!

My wife was hesitant to try it when she first heard about the recipe, but I did it anyway and now she apologizes for being such a doubter! Everybody brings the spinach dip with pumpernickel bread. This rises above that dip. SOO easy and SOO good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#1 Canadian Cook July 26, 2011

I made this for a friends birthday party...& everyone LOVED it! I roasted my own chicken & used about 8 oz of sour cream & 6 oz of Mayo with 1/2 of a ranch packet instead of the 1 cup of ranch dressing. It was really good & my husband doesn't care for spicy food, but he even liked this dip. I will for sure add this one to my recipe box :-) thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RenaeJ June 10, 2011
Buffalo Chicken Dip